RSS Feed

I could hang out under there…

Posted on

…haha, I just made you say underwear!

But seriously. Let’s talk.

(Warning: If you don’t want to talk/hear about those things you wear under your clothes, cut loose now.)

Last night, I did something I have never done before. I mean, it’s not that it couldn’t be done, it’s just that I wasn’t sure I was strong enough. I just didn’t know if I could…go that long.

I went to two back-to-back classes at the YMCA: Spin and Body Pump.

And at the risk of saying something that it’s what I like to call Too Much Information…I want to talk about underwear.

I learned the hard way that lacy panties are NOT the way to go during a spin class. I felt like they were fused to my skin. That’s what I get for going straight from work to the gym. I tried to plan ahead, finding my comfiest underthings. Which worked out like a dream…until I went to Body Pump and caught a glimpse of myself in the mirror.

It was the dreaded…VPL.

I’m talking Visible Panty Lines, y’all.

Now, I’m sure that people at the gym have much better things to focus on that how my ass looks in my Old Navy stretch pants, but I still felt a little awkward. Especially during the squats.

So here are my questions for you: What’s your plan of attach when it comes to unmentionables at the gym? And do you think VPLs are as distracting as I feel like they are? (PS I suggest you also check out Eunice’s sexy underwear test-drive. I may try and check out some of her suggestions, though the only line-free pair she tested were thongs, and…well, that ain’t happening.)

13 responses »

  1. So, I wear thongs for every workout. I buy the VS pink line thongs (mostly) or cotton thongs from Old Navy (which they discontinued… boo hiss) that are cotton with a lace band around the top. I think they are comfortable, though (maybe TMI) during spin they often get a little sweaty and must be changed immediately after my workout.

    I have NO despire to have a VPL. My butt is huggee, so it’s like totally apparent if I”m sporting the VPL and it’s a big no no for me!

    And I definitely notice other women’s VPLs. But maybe I’m just on the lookout for them!?

    This is a fabulous topic though. and WTG on spin and body pump!!!

    Reply
    • old Navy made my favorite undies, too! Darn them and their reasonably priced three-packs. My rear is of the maximus size, too, but that’s one reason why I fear going without/thong route—I’m afraid everyone will be able to tell.

      Reply
  2. upgrade to performance material and go commando. Everyone is doing it.

    Reply
  3. Thanks for the shout out! So I take it you are not a fan of the thong? I really haven’t found anything else that is completely VPL-proof when working out. Too much movement always brings out the lines. I personally can’t go commando because I’m too paranoid. I’d say the next best option would be the Under Armour underwear. Super comfortable too.

    Reply
    • I haven’t worn a thong in forever, it seems. I just can’t imagine wearing them to work out. Squats? I’d be afraid I’d give myself a painful front wedgie.

      Reply
  4. Eek. I have to confess that I’m kind of Lesbian Prison Guart Robin (from How I Met Your Mother) when doing exercise. I’m going to be sweaty, and I’m going to be purple-faced, so I figure I may as well at least be comfy.

    I cannot express how happy I was when thongs stopped being the big trend. They just never sat right with me, and I’m sure they played havoc with my digestive system.

    Reply
    • Hahahahaha! You have no idea how happy this HIMYM reference made me! In addition, this: “I cannot express how happy I was when thongs stopped being the big trend. They just never sat right with me, and I’m sure they played havoc with my digestive system.”

      Best. Comment. Ever.

      Reply
  5. I’m with Rachael. I just don’t wear underwear, because I wear close fitting, sweat wicking pants/shorts.

    Reply
  6. If I’m going to be seriously sweating, like running at the gym I wear my sweat-wicking athletic panties. They are briefs. They give me the VPL. I don’t care. I’m super sweaty/stanky/red-faced anyway. I’m not about to win any beauty contests.

    Honestly, if I’m wearing tight pants, I’d rather people knew I am actually wearing panties and not going commando. Also, I don’t think people really notice. Better to worry about a potential camel toe. Now THAT is something to lose sleep over.

    Reply
    • My mom used to always say, “Would you rather people think that you aren’t wearing underwear, or that you are??” Obviously she wasn’t alone in that thought.

      Reply
  7. I generally just wear what I wore to work that day, although I avoid the lacy stuff when I knew I was going to go to spin because of the terrible violation to my womanly bits. I have never noticed VPL’s on anyone before, but I probably will now! Ha!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

