RSS Feed

spin cycle

Posted on

So remember how I talked about how much I “hated” spinning?

Well…I may have to…take that back.

Because I think, I might, sort of, kind of…actually like it.

I know. I know. Crazy.

When I finally got my gym membership unfrozen after an entire month off due to my injury, I decided to do my best to get back in the habit. I promised my sweet coworker that I would hit a spin class with her. She’s a total rockstar, and always asks me to go, but I turn her down because I think that I just can’t do it. Also, Mandy had just joined the Y and had promised to come along.

It was a little shaky at first, but I surprised myself by, you know, not dying on the bike. I went twice that week. Since that first class back, I’ve gone at least once a week. It makes me feel strong. It makes me sweaty, which makes me happy. And it makes me feel like my leg muscles are still hiding out in there, waiting on me to coax them back out into the open.

I was supposed to run a 5k two weeks ago, but due to a few different circumstances, I didn’t go through with it. I was tired, I stayed up too late, I had a busy Saturday after the run….but bottom line, I think I’m still a little nervous to get back out there. I’m scared to fail. I really love(d) running so much that I’m afraid I’ll never get that lust, that desire back after having taken such a hiatus.

I’m definitely going to make my return to running soon. As in, this season. I’m already signed up for a 5k (or possibly a 10k) next month, and I think Jen and I are going to do a Women’s Health 5k at the end of April. It’s only $15 to sign up, so that’s tempting.

The other 10k/5k is called Music Moves Me, and I ran it last year. Long story short, it basically sucked. The volunteers packed up too early, and being in a strange town (Huntsville), my sister and I got lost. It was just a disaster, and I made sure to send a strongly worded email detailing my concerns.

And while those things rarely make a difference, my voice was definitely heard: I got word back from the director, and they not only repaid me for my entry fee but they also comped my 2011 fee (assuming I’d want to do it again). Apparently the course has changed, the volunteers aren’t going to slack, and there’s a 5k option (last year it was 10k only). I would love, love to be able to do the 10k, because I like the distance, but I think I’ll be able to make the decision to only do what I’m capable of.

Speaking of running, I’m super proud of my buddy Jen, who ran her 1st half marathon this past Sunday. She posted her race recap, so head over to her blog to give her a virtual pat on the blog.

Have you ever found an exercise you thought you couldn’t do, only to change your mind? Obviously I was that way with spin, but I was also in the same boat when it came to running. I tried it several times before I found my groove. (Read more about my running journey here!)

3 responses »

  1. Three cheers for spinning! They say you have to do it three times before you decide whether it’s for you or not.

    I used to look at the people doing Body Pump (weight lifting with barbells) and I thought “There is NO FUCKING WAY.” Now I go at least once a week, if not more.

    Trying new things is the way to go!

    Reply
    • Thank you m’am! I always think of how many friends I have that looove spinning, and I knew I needed to give it more time. Now I just need to grow a pair and work with the free weights by myself.

      Reply
  2. Pingback: sh*t my spin instructor says « that's what summer said.

Leave a Reply

