RSS Feed

waiter, there’s grass on my burger.

Posted on

DSC08636 Oh, it’s supposed to be that way? Ah, got it.

This past Friday, Jonathan and I decided to just cliche it up by having a dinner and a movie date, something we rarely ever do. I was really craving a burger, and without even knowing this fact, J suggested that we check out Flip Burger at the Summit.

I went with the Butcher’s Cut (above, forgive the blurry photo…it was somewhat fancy inside, and I felt sort of like a goofball snapping photos), which consisted of steak (cooked medium), red wine jam, blue cheese, caramelized onions, scallions, and frisee (the grass on top). It was so delicious! The steak was cooked perfectly, and the flavors all blended so well. I’m finding that I really like the stank of some blue cheese 🙂

Jonathan had the Ossobuco, with veal, gremolata mayo, braised ketchup and crispy fried onions.

DSC08638

Ah, MUCH better photography skillz. I had a tiny bite (I don’t do mayo, and honestly, veal creeps me out), and it was pretty tasty as well. Jonathan gave a a grunt of approval between bites.

We also shared an order of vodka-battered onion rings.

DSC08640

They were good, but still a little greasy. I mean, not for onion rings, but they were too greasy in that I haven’t really eaten this kind of stuff in forever.

For the movie part of our date, we went to see The Adjustment Bureau.

The-Adjustment-Bureau

(source)

It was meh.

Honestly, I just kept thinking about how silly a lot of it seemed. It wasn’t terrible, but I feel like it could’ve been so much better. It had a great idea—fate, chance, free will. It was based on a short story by Phillip K. Dick (Blade Runner), and you could totally tell. That being said, some things just don’t translate well to the big screen.

My weekend was pretty uneventful, other than our “big night out” (we’re such old people). Saturday it rained all. damn. day, so I celebrated with pajama pants, Netflix, and a breakfast of scrambled eggs, biscuits, gravy, potatoes with onions and peppers, and veggie sausage. Perfection!

Sunday I got a lot done in my room and met up with an old friend for some drinks and fun chat catch-up time. Basically, a great weekend. I’m never happy to see Monday come, but my nice weekend high lessened the blow.

What is your favorite way to spend a lazy, rainy Saturday?

5 responses »

  1. Watching movies and reading! Love lazy, rainy Saturdays, except the nice weather has spoiled me lately. I’m ready for the 70-degree weather to return! Your dinner at Flip looked amazing! I love that place. I’m disappointed that The Adjustment Bureau isn’t a good movie! I still want to see it…but I’ll be prepared for the letdown.

    Reply
  2. Can we go during Spring Break? Yum!

    Reply
  3. Your burger looked amazing, as well as Jonathans! Mmmm…Well it rained here over the weekend, and I spent it cleaning and rearranging furniture. It was fun, and I love seeing the finished product. Lazy Saturdays are comforting with good food, PJs and Netflix. Glad you enjoyed it! 🙂

    Reply
  4. hey! so i’m catching up on your blog posts from a while ago. 🙂 i am really bad about staying current with my blog-reading. but i have a question for you (now that i am STARVING after lo0king at all your delicious food pictures) – those potatoes with onions & peppers, how do you cook them? the times i’ve tried to make breakfast potatoes, they never turn out the way i want. & yours look how i want mine to look!

    Reply
    • Hey girl! Here’s what I do: I dice them very thin, then spread them out on a baking sheet that’s been sprayed with olive oil, then give them a quick spritz, too. I pop them in the oven on 350-400 for a little while. In the meantime, prep your onions, peppers etc in a skillet on the stovetop. When they the potatoes start to get soft, I take them out and put them in the same skillet, stirring them around till they get kinda crusty and mingle with the peppers and stuff.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

