RSS Feed

local flavor: Valentine’s weekend

Posted on

As I said in my last post, Jonathan and I did most of our celebrating the weekend before Valentine’s day. We started out on Friday night with dinner at a fun place I’d only been to for happy hour: 26.

After browsing the menu, we decided to start out with a sushi roll. The two of us settled on the Spicy Hawaiian Tuna: Red Pepper, Sambal, Cucumber Macadamia Nuts, Toasted Coconut.IMG_0662IMG_0663

(Please excuse the iPhone photos; I forgot to bring my camera into the restaurant!)

The menu had so many yummy-sounding things! It was hard to decide, but in the end, I couldn’t quite get past the seared Ahi tuna served over vegetable lo mein.

IMG_0664 Bad picture, delicious meal! The tuna was cooked perfectly, rare, and the outside had the tastiest crust. The lo mein was the perfect balance without being too salty.

Jonathan ordered what our waiter called the “seafood pasta,” though it sounded more colorful than that on the menu: Gulf Coast Shrimp, George’s Bank Sea Scallops, Prosciutto Ham, Shiitake Mushrooms, Sweet Peas, Handmade Strozzapretti Pasta, Sage White Wine Cream.

IMG_0665

Geez…what an awful picture. This was great, too—creamy and very fresh.

After dinner, I surprised Jonathan with something I thought would be ridiculously fun: tickets to go see 1999: A Tribute to Prince.

It. Was. Awesome.IMG_0669It was hard with the light show to get any good shots. I have several mental pictures tucked away though, and they are of perfect quality.

Saturday was a really fun day, too. We started with a really light breakfast.DSC08317  That is local bread from Big Sky Bread, a Pink Lady apple, cheddar and pepper jack cheeses and smoothies containing banana, berries and pineapple.

After lazing around for a while, we headed to downtown Homewood to eat lunch at Saw’s. I’ve eaten there a few times, but he had never experienced it. I deemed it a must.

I had the smoked chicken and side of mac and cheese, and Jonathan went with the pulled pork plate, along with mac and a side of greens.

DSC08324DSC08322

Oh, and we had some frosty beverages.

DSC08326DSC08327

After lunch, we took a little a short walk over to Edgewood Creamery. It was such a lovely day, and what better time for ice cream?! Look what I found out front:

DSC08321 You’re beautiful, too, Edgewood Creamery!

I had German Chocolate…I can’t remember what Jonathan got 😦 It was good, though!DSC08333DSC08334

DSC08337

Cute, huh?

I loved the celebs on the menus:

DSC08331

Mighty Vulcan!

DSC08332

Lady Liberty!

That was my weekend in a nutshell 🙂 We’ve been having some awesome weather, and I’ve been celebrating by making my way around some of my favorite Birmingham places. Local love!

2 responses »

  1. Summmeeeeeeeeeer, you are making me so.damn.hungry. Sushi, mac n cheese and ice cream? I think you just hit my 3 food groups in one post. Oh wait, I’m supposed to eat vegetables? fml.

    Reply
  2. Looks like you two had a great VDAY weekend 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

