RSS Feed

in my mouth: food overload

Posted on

It’s been a while since I’ve done a post about What I Put in My Mouth This Weekend. What better time than the present? Especially since I did a lot of shoveling food into my piehole these past several days.

It started on Friday night, when I headed home to my grandparents’ house with Jonathan to visit my family and celebrate some birthdays. My Aunt Athena is arguably one of the very best cooks, and she made a delicious yet simple feast for us to chow down on. (Or, a delicious feast on which we chowed down.)

DSC08171 Corn (with no butter, thanks Aunt Athena), green beans, steamed cabbage, stuffing with cranberries and turkey. I couldn’t finish all my turkey, but I happily consumed the rest. I had to leave room for this:

DSC08172DSC08173

Pac-Man cake! My aunt made this lemon beauty for my Aunt Alice’s birthday. It was also my Aunt Angie’s birthday, and my grandfather as well. (He turned 81!)

J and I headed home after dinner to prepare for our trip to Chattanooga in the AM. One of his friends got married in the chapel on UTC’s campus, and we were heading up for the ceremony and reception.

We got a healthy start, stopping at Subway to try out their breakfast sandwiches I’d been wanting to try.

DSC08174DSC08176

I had the Western, with egg white omelet, pepperjack cheese, bell and banana pepper and green onion. In hindsight, mustard would’ve made it better. J went with the steak and egg white, adding peppers and tomatoes and cheddar cheese. My verdict? Pretty tasty! I’d definitely opt for one again.

After a surprisingly quick trip up to Chatt-town, we found our hotel and stopped at a local watering hole, the Honest Pint. Don’t judge—it was after noon.

DSC08178DSC08185

The inside was very cool. We talked to the bartender, Travis, about the building and it’s previous uses. One of the previous businesses? A brothel. Nice.

DSC08179Jonathan chose a porter that I can’t remember the name of. It came in a huge mug was nice and dark. (That’s what…?)

I had a Left Hand Black Jack Porter. It was a high gravity and something I’d not had before.

DSC08180DSC08184DSC08183DSC08182

Mischief managed.

After checking in at the Chattanooga Choo-Choo (!!!), we hurried to get ready for Brandon and Kristin’s wedding. It was really lovely. I didn’t take any pictures of the ceremony, and I only got one real picture of them at the reception…and it wasn’t the best. I like to tell myself I was being artsy, and that’s why it’s so blurry.

DSC08188

And I did, of course, get a quick shot of what I crammed in my mouth at the event.DSC08187

Some sort of bruschetta (goat cheese/tomatoes on toast), prime rib with a roll, grilled squash and asparagus and onion, a spinach quiche and some wine. It was awesome. I wanted to go back for more, but we were sitting with a group of people I didn’t know, and since I was sitting so much to rest my feet, I didn’t want them to think all I did was eat and drink 😦 In hindsight, I should’ve just gone back for more. I did keep it classy, San Diego, with just one glass of wine and a beer. (Blue Moon on tap! I had to.)

Here are some of the only pictures I got of the two of us:

DSC08190DSC08192

The next day, we visited a local pub, the Terminal Brewhouse. The inside was very cool (I didn’t get a lot of pictures; it started getting busy), and the food and service were both great.

We started with their Festo Bread—a feta basil pine nut olive oil on fresh, local bread.

DSC08203 And what’s one of the first things you order at a brewpub?DSC08197

Cheesesticks! No, I mean, BEER! It was all local and all awesome. I ended up having half of these (split with J) and a pint of the seasonal Scottish ale. J went with the IPA.

The menu was really fun, with witty descriptions of the dishes.DSC08196

Any Always Sunny in Philadelphia fans? Anyone?

I almost went with the Fru Fru (listed above), but instead I had the Chick Power with grilled chicken, bacon, onions, mushrooms and mozzarella.

DSC08205DSC08206

With sweet potato fries.

Jonathan had the Tony Montana: ham, pepperoni, Swiss cheese, pickles and mustard.

DSC08209DSC08207

And a side of grits with bacon and cheese (I think?).

We both gave this two enthusiastic thumbs up. Or four thumbs, rather.

DSC08200

DSC08198

Sadly, while the lighting was good for taking food pictures, I look like I have no facial features in the photo above 😦

Sunday night was the ultimate foodfest: Superbowl.

DSC08235DSC08239

Sigh. I can never managed to watch my spinach dip close enough when I decide to broil the cheese on top. It tasted alright, though.

There was so much food…Joy made these awesome cheeseburger pinwheels.

DSC08234

Here she is, shaking down her meat log.

The finished product was delish:

DSC08238

And then even more…

DSC08233DSC08236DSC08240DSC08242
Themed cupcakes, strawberry cupcakes, pigs-in-a-blanket, cheese, pepperoni and olive on-a-stick, grilled bacon-wrapped jalapenos stuffed with cream cheese, fried Wickles (they’re not just pickles!). And not pictured: guacamole, sausage balls, rotel dip, carrots (I felt like I had to bring something healthy) and chips.

Phew! I told you there was a lot of food. Did you eat a lot of Superbowl treats this weekend?

10 responses »

  1. “Mischief Managed” ….I smell a HP fan, and I love it. I also love all the Left Hand products. You are a girl after my own heart!

    Reply
  2. Food looks amazing, and you look absolutely gorgeous on all those pictures 🙂

    Reply
  3. “You gotta pay the troll toll.”

    I love fried pickles and all of your food photos.

    I never keep it classy at weddings. You’re a better woman than I.

    Reply
    • “To get into this boy’s soul!” Haha, classic. Fun fact: Glenn Howerton is from Montgomery, just a little ways south of where I live!

      And classy is overrated. Fried pickles, however, are not.

      Reply
  4. You have gorgeous hair! I am super jealous. Jealous of your hair and your beer sampler. I love samplers 🙂

    Reply
  5. Gorgeous last picture of you!

    Fun fact: Never been an avid watcher of It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia but in my reporter days, I got to hang out on their tour bus when they made a stop in Philly. They are crazy and so much fun!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

