RSS Feed

it’s limp, it’s limp, it’s limp, it might be dead.

Posted on

DSC08161 Awwwwwwww. Don’t you just hate it when that happens?

Back story: So, I was wearing flip-flops this time last week. And now, this:

DSC08134

Out of nowhere, sleet and ice and a little snow, right after my lunch break. Hence, all afternoon, I could only think about some delicious soup that I would be preparing for myself later in the evening. I had some celery in my fridge, just waiting (and wilting, as I now know) to be used in a soup, along with some sweet potatoes and carrots on their last leg. My plan was to make a stew I had earlier this fall.

Unfortunately, I couldn’t really remember how I made it. Sigh. The only thing I remember was that I needed ground coriander and all I had were the seeds. I found a way around it.

DSC08139DSC08141DSC08142DSC08144

Bam. Can I just say how amazing it smelled?   (That’s what she said?) Like…fruity pebbles, or Trix or something. Yum. I wanted to rub it all over my body, but I refrained, knowing that I needed at least a tablespoon to make my soup. That, and I imagine spices are not something to screw around with when it comes to rubbing onto the body.

Where was I?

Oh, the soup. For future reference, this is what I used (and it tasted amazing, but I’m getting ahead of myself):

  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 1-2 stalks celery (the crisper, the better, but I used my flacid stalks since it was all I had)
  • 2 small onions (or one medium)
  • 2 tsp minced garlic
  • 1 cup lentils
  • 1-1 1/2 cup diced sweet potatoes
  • 1 cup diced carrots
  • 1 tbsp ground coriander
  • 2 cup water
  • 1 15-oz can no-salt-added diced tomatoes
  • 1 8-oz can no-salt-added tomato sauce
  • some ground cumin, chili powder and S&P to taste

Start by preheating the oven to about 350 degrees. Spritz a baking sheet with some olive oil and spread out the sweet potatoes and carrots in one even layer. Give them another spritz or two and a shake of S&P. Pop them into the oven till roasted but not burned. (You’ll know when to pull out…hehe…)

Meanwhile, heat the oil in a large Dutch oven. Add the celery, garlic and onion and cook till softened. Pour in the can of tomatoes and tomato sauce, followed by the water (start with a cup, and add to the desired consistency) and lentils. Dump in the carrots and sweet potatoes. Bring to a boil, then reduce to a simmer.

I let this cook for about 30-45 minutes. In the meantime…I made some delicious beer bread to go with it!

This is the simplest recipe: 3 cups flour, 1 tbsp each sugar and baking powder, and 1 tsp salt. Oh, and a beer. I used a Sam Adams Light. I’ve also found that I like to add some dill to the mix as well.

DSC08148

Jonathan has affectionately referred the pre-bread as “Dill Dough.”

God I love that man. Almost as much as I love carbs.

DSC08151

And this soup. And I’m a lady who loves her soup.

DSC08153

Best of all, it’s meat-free! No animals were harmed during this evening of soup consumption.

Well, that’s a lie.

DSC08099

I did have to swat Dave away when he got too close to my dinner. Silly kitty—soups are for peoples!

What’s your favorite warm-me-up recipe when it’s frightful outside? I love building flavors in soups, layering different vegetables and spices…pure comfort!

One response »

  1. Just so you know…

    You can slice the bottoms off celery put it in a glass with water and they should come back to life at least long enough to cook with.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

