RSS Feed

baby’s got sauce

Posted on

This weekend, I’m heading back to mine and J’s college town for a special dinner/get-together, but I really wanted to share a delicious lunch that I had this week:  Buffalo “Chicken” Pita.  It was super easy to make, and it featured a really interesting addition—homemade “Ranch.”DSC07877

I hate mayonnaise.  I make no excuses about this, nor do I attempt to cover it up.  I stray away from a lot of things.  But recently, I’ve discovered how to get around using mayo:  Greek yogurt.  The last time I made something with buffalo sauce, I was wishing I had something like Ranch dressing to add to it.  I mixed up a little sauce that was pretty good, but I made some tweaks this week that really made the flavor work.

To start, I used half of a Publix brand vegetarian chicken patty that I’d covered in buffalo sauce and let sit in the fridge overnight.  I cut it up into chunks, then stuffed those into half of a pita loaf I’d toasted lightly, to make it sturdier.  Also into the pita went about 1/2 an ounce of reduced-fat cheese, sliced and cut into tiny pieces, and some more buffalo sauce.

For the Ranch:  I started with 2 tbsp 2% Greek yogurt and 1 tbsp lemon juice.  I mixed and mixed until it was all blended and there were no chunks.  I then added garlic, parsley, a little S & P and some paprika.  I drizzled the sauce into the pita and toasted it till the outside was crispy.

DSC07869DSC07868DSC07871

 

 

 

Yum!  Are there any recipes that you’ve made while finding your way around a tricky ingredient?  For me, it’s mayo:  I make spinach artichoke dip, potato salad, tuna salad and now Ranch, all without mayo.

4 responses »

  1. I have made more friends with mayo aversions over the last few years than the entire sum of life. I am pretty sure in Millport mayo was a part of life you didn’t question.

    Reply
  2. I am a huge mayo fan, but I have a slightly weird phobia about it becoming at all warm. People who eat tuna melts baffle me! My local supermarket stocks a brand called Delouis Fils that contains nothing but Sunflower Oil, Egg Yolk, Dijon Mustard, Vinegar, Salt and Lemon. I swear I could eat it with a spoon.

    The Greek yoghurt seems like a great way to get around that issue! I also like to use creme fraiche – it’s more creamy and a bit less sour.

    Reply
    • Haha, I know what you mean! I used to get all weirded out about having cream cheese in dips and stuff, warmed up; now I’ve turned to the dark side! I should really be okay with mayo, since I like the ingredients that make it, but…ugh. It just doesn’t float my boat.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

