RSS Feed

whole lotta enchilada

Posted on

I love the way certain words sit in my mouth and roll off my tongue.  Like enchilada.  So many fun words end with “-ada” or “-ata.”  Pina colada.  Pinata.  Fermata.  Eric Estrada.

Go ahead, say it.  It’s perfectly natural.

Fun fact:  I took Advanced Grammar in college, which was basically an Intro to Linguistics.  We had to learn the Phontetic Alphabet, learn how sounds are made, etc.  During tests, the girl who say behind me would sound everything out.  I’d be minding my own biz, and I would hear, “NNG!  OOH!  AAH!  LLLL!”  It was enough for me to get my diphthong all in a twist.

Ok, I’m back.

You know what else I like in my mouth?  Food.  And I have a hunch you do, too.  Lucky for us both, I have an awesome recipe that you won’t have to worry about rolling off your tongue because you’ll be too busy trying to shovel as much as you can into your mouth and consequently, your belly.

It’s that good.

I made a big batch of black beans earlier this week.  My plan was to have freeze some and have some during the week.  I was going to make black beans and pineapple over brown rice one night, when the wheels started turning.  How about…black bean and pineapple…enchiladas?!?!

Google, true to form, did not disappoint.  I came up with this recipe from Pillsbury, which I tweaked a little.

I was feeling a little rushed trying to get everything ready for Reagan, Mandy, and Jen, so I didn’t really take any pictures during.  Here’s how it all went down:

To start, I heated 2 tsp of olive oil in a non-stick skillet over med-high heat.  I sautéed 1 cup onion and 1 cup chopped red bell pepper until softened.  Then I added in about 1.5 cups of my black beans, a small can of green chiles and the pineapple.

Oh, the pineapple.

I first thought I’d just use the fresh pineapple I had on my counter.  Then I realized that I needed pineapple juice, and I couldn’t find just the juice, so I bought a can.  Once home, I realized that I’d bought crushed pineapple, which is basically just pulverized pineapple mush.  I asked Mandy to pick up a can of tidbits, what I meant to get.  She came with chunks.  “Isn’t this the same thing?”  she asked.  I opened the can to find huge…well, for lack of a better word, chunks.  Which I ended up chopping up anyway.  Sigh.  It wasn’t a big deal, but seriously, who would’ve thought there were so many different kinds of pineapple?

So.  Where were we?

Oh, before adding the pineapple, drain it and reserve 1/3 cup of the juice.  Removing the skillet from the heat, I skipped the added salt and mixed in the cilantro and one cup of reduced-fat cheese instead of the recommended 2 cups. 

The recipe also calls for flour tortillas, but they typically have so many added ingredients, and I’ve always heard that corn tortillas are better for you anyway.  To make them easier to work with, I took four tortillas at a time, wrapped them in a damp paper towel, and microwaved them for about 15 seconds.  Also, I used 12 instead of 8.

Spoon a tablespoon of enchilada sauce onto a tortilla and spread.  I scooped about 1/4-1/2 cup of the filling into each tortilla (I had extra, too), then rolled it up, placing it seam-side down into a baking dish I’d sprayed with olive oil.  Once that’s down, you mix the remaining sauce with 1/3 cup of the reserved pineapple juice and pour it over the whole thing.  Top with another cup of reduced-fat cheese.

I let these bake for about 30ish minutes, let the cheese melt and the tortillas get a little crispy.

DSC07891 Yes, some of the tortillas split open, but it was still oh. so. good.

DSC07893 

The filling was nice mix of sweet and savory, especially with the pineapple and the red peppers.  I loved it! 

I definitely think I’ll tweak this recipe a little next time I make it, since I had too much filling.  But hands-down, I will make this again—amazing.

My sister hates sweet foods unless they’re desserts.  She says, “Dinner should not be sweet.”  I also have a friend, Erin, who despises “hot fruit,” mostly in pie form.  What about you?  Do you like sweet and savory combinations?  I myself love teriyaki with pineapple and breakfast sausage with syrup and such.

7 responses »

  1. Diphthong. teehehe.

    PS. I love the sweet and savory combo! and consequently I do enjoy enchiladas….a lot! I’ll be making a variation of this soon!

    Reply
  2. A local restaurant does this amazing wild boar with apricot and Stilton dish that I am going to town on as soon as this baby is out! So yum, sweet and savoury are fab. However – I just can’t do the pineapple thing. Soz. Pineapple is for Dole Whips and my mum’s amazing Caribbean Mess (meringues + cream + pineapple + Malibu, all kinda smushed together).

    Reply
    • I have heard so much about Dole Whips…what exactly are they? I had pork with apricot once and it was incredible!

      Reply
      • They’re a really yummy pineappley fat-free non-dairy frozen dessert. Don’t read the ingredients list – it’s freaky, but I figure as I have an average of one a year, it’s not the end of the world!

  3. I love those things too! I really, really loved these enchiladas and you know I make so many Tex-Mex flavored dishes at home, adding pineapple to them is genius! Thanks for having me to dinner!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

