RSS Feed

cracked.

Posted on

So…here’s the verdict.

DSC07846 I get this superawesomecool shoe to wear for the next two weeks.  No running for 4-6 weeks.  The diagnosis:  2 stress fractures in my left foot and a sprained tendon in my right.  All because I tried to cross an item off my bucket list.  Or rather, reach a major milestone.

It’s killing me.

You’d think I’d be thrilled to be laid up with time to write.  Honestly, I’ve just been feeling really sorry for myself.  And trying not to self-medicate with wine.

I’m hoping I’ll be back to my old self soon.  I just feel so frustrated all the time because A) I can’t do anything, and 2) it hurts.  Bad.  It’s like…you know when you work at a job where you’re on your feet the whole time, and that first day, your feet hurt like hell?

Yeah.  That’s my feet.  All the time.

I  know it’s not that big of a deal, and other people have been hurt way worse than me (um, hello, Emily got hit by a freaking car), but right now, this sucks.

Planning on checking in with everyone this week…my Google reader is bursting at its proverbial gills!

What’s the worst injury you’ve ever experienced?  How long were you off your feet?  I tore my ACL in high school.  That still remains the worst thing that’s ever happened to me, and the only surgery I’ve ever had.  It took a while to rehabilitate.

20 responses »

  1. OMG! I am sooooo sorry. Surely you didn’t have a stress fracture from the 10 mile race only did you?

    Let me know if you need a care package! I will drop one in the mail immediately 🙂

    Reply
    • Laura, you are just the sweetest! I hear you talk about your care packages all the time 🙂 I didn’t really have the pain much before…and it was excruciating by the time I got done 😦 Almost 2 and half hours on my feet; I think I did too much too fast.

      Reply
  2. Holy shit! That sucks! The worst health-related thing that ever happened to me was when I had to have my gallbladder removed because it was causing a pancreas infection. I was in the hospital for a week and the hospital is bo-ring! I was also in a lot of pain and I had terrible cabin fever. At least at home you can suck down the wine and have a Netflix marathon. If you haven’t watched the entire Six Feet Under series, now is a good time to start!

    Reply
  3. You poor thing 😦 In all honesty, this is what scares me about running. You either do it occasionally, suck at it and always find it hard; or you do it regularly, fall in love and get massively hurt. I don’t know that I like either option.

    Worst thing that happened to me? Wisdom tooth extraction that put my in intensive care. Lots of fun, and a pretty scar to boot. Go to my blog and search for “dentist”…

    Hope it gets easier. Take good care of yourself and remember that healing requires lots of yummy food. xx

    Reply
    • It’s scary, but it’s worth the risk! Even walking is great, and I’ll be glad to get back to that. Your dentist experience sounds painful; I’ve not had my wisdom teeth removed yet…and I’m almost 26! Any comforting recipes you’d like to email me?

      Reply
  4. Oh nooooo! I’m so sorry! That totally blows. A lot. Hope the pain subsides soon!

    Reply
  5. Ugh – I’m so sorry 😦 The worst injury I’ve had (which wasn’t even that bad) was tendinitis in my foot, most likely caused by walking around the city too much in flip-flops.

    Feel free to feel sorry for yourself all you want – 4-6 weeks is a long time to be off your feet…

    Reply
  6. bummer, major time. Hang tight Summer and you will be back hitting pavement again in no time!

    Reply
  7. Quit feeling sorry for yourself! Right now, I meant it! You injured yourself running TEN MILES! Okay let me repeat that… TENN MIIIIIILES! WTF girl? I injur myself walking to the bathroom – at least you injured yourself in a respectable way.

    But on the flip side, I think I need to come by with a tasty, healthy, meal for two – and we’ll watch some sappy TLC show together. Okay?!

    Feel better, darling!

    Reply
  8. Ouch – so sorry about that injury, girl!
    Hang in there, though.
    It’s only a month. It’ll fly by, you’ll see 🙂

    Reply
    • Here’s hoping, dear. It’s hard to see the light when you’re at the other end of the tunnel, but I know it’ll be over before I know it. Ready to feel better!

      Reply
  9. Pingback: bless your hearts. « that's what summer said.

  10. Gah! I’m a little late, but sorry to hear about your foot! At least you will be stylin’ with that blue shoe.

    Kohy tore his ACL 3 years ago, and then tore it again a year later. It was good times. He still strains it every once in a while so we keep a really hot boot around for him to wear when it gets bad.

    Reply
  11. Pingback: spin cycle « that's what summer said.

Leave a Reply

