RSS Feed

the perfect man

Posted on

I know the holidays are technically over, but I don’t think there is ever a right or wrong time to eat cookies.  Thus, I want you to immediately run to the store and pick up some molasses so that you can make the most amazing gingerbread cookies I have ever eaten.

I’ve always wanted to make gingerbread men.  Well, I’ve always wanted to make something with cookie cutters, other than Jell-O jigglers (remember those?).  I put it off for a long time, mostly because I felt like rolling out cookies would be a pain, and I’d also heard some things about gingerbread being difficult to work with.  “Chill for two hours,” many recipes said.  Two hours??  Really?  My ADD will not let me sit around that long.

I scoured the net for some good recipes, and I’d narrowed it down when I came across Jenna’s recipe at Eat, Live, Run.  It looked easy enough, and she said one thing I was praying for:  no need to chill the dough!  Perfection.

I had most everything I needed, except for the molasses.  It’s relatively cheap, and a small price to pay for these delicious fellas.  You can check out Jenna’s exact recipe here, but here’s a basic list of what you’ll need:

all purpose flour

ground ginger, cinnamon, and ground cloves

ground white pepper (I didn’t have it, so I used nutmeg…not exactly the same thing, but still)

unsalted butter

molasses

dark brown sugar

baking soda

egg

J and I got started by putting on our protective armor.

DSC06664DSC06665

Sexy, right?

Combine your spices, brown sugar and molasses in a heavy bottomed pot.  Bring the mixture to a boil, and keep it going for about three minutes.  (Side note:   The first time I made these, we overlooked the whole “three minutes” thing.  The second time, my mom and I followed the directions.  I think the result is a chewier texture, but I’m really not sure.  To be perfectly honest, they were delicious both times around.)

DSC06668DSC06670

Mmm…looks like motor oil.

DSC06679

Spice it up!

After removing the pot from the heat, add the baking soda and stir.

DSC06682DSC06688

Then…the good stuff.

DSC06680Chunk it up, and then add it in a little at a time and let it melt.

DSC06689 Mmm….butter.

Add the beaten egg, then the salt and flour.  (Note:  I added in all but about a 1/4 cup of the flour, which I mixed in as I rolled out the dough.)

DSC06693It will be so stick you can stand a spoon up in it.

DSC06695That’s what she said?

Anyhow.  Prep your area.

DSC06697Then roll ‘em out and move ‘em in (the oven)!

DSC06698DSC06699DSC06701Oh, and in case you were wondering, since I know you are, the dough. tastes. incredible.

They bake up just perfect!

DSC06703I think I’ve found the perfect man.

DSC06704I mean, honestly.  He’s got all the right curves, the right balance of sweet and spice, he’s so symmetrical…and chewy.  Don’t forget chewy.

DSC06706I don’t know how to break the news to Jonathan.

DSC06707Jonathan told me he’d bite the head off of any man who tried to get in my mouth like that.

DSC06708He kept good on his promise…we both did.  It’s a good thing I’d already promised to give some of these away as gifts.  Do yourself a favor and make these.  Like, now.  And they don’t have to be men—I have heart and flower cookie cutters that are going to get up close and personal with this recipe very soon.

Did you make any gingerbread men this year?  What’s your overall opinion on cookies:  Is it worth the trouble make them from scratch and roll them out?

6 responses »

  1. I love chewy gingerbread cookies! I’ve been hankering to make the Starbucks ginger-molasses recipe but I always get stuck on the molasses. Har har. Like you I don’t have any in my house and I always forget to pick some up. I need to make a special trip maybe.

    Reply
  2. Hahahahaha – these look so simple and delicious!
    I wish I had molasses to try it right NOW 😉

    Reply
  3. I keep molasses in my pantry now. I use it in place of maple in most recipes, because maple is just too expensive for me. It takes me about a year to use up the entire container. I’ve used it a lot in salad dressings, marinades, and sauces. I also like to put molasses on my pancakes.

    So yummy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

