RSS Feed

not-so-perfect 10

Posted on

The Red Nose Run to benefit the Ronald McDonald house was Saturday, January 8.  It was my longest race distance (and distance, period) to date.  However, it wasn’t the “longest” race I’ve ever run—meaning, it drug on forever.  No, that goes to my very 1st miserable 10k.  It was a two loop course, and I wanted to punch myself by the end.

This race…was something else.  There were so many hills, and I wasn’t particularly familiar with the course.  The first 5k went by slowly…more slowly than any 5k I’ve done before.  I wasn’t too far off my 10k pace, but it went steadily downhill after that.  Sadly, the race course went steadily UPhill.

I was surprised with how I felt through every part of the race.  I never once felt a painful side stitch that I’m pretty accustomed to, and I was able to breathe fairly well.  My legs burned, and I was tired, but I was making it.  I started to get really, really hungry about halfway through, and I’d mistakenly given Jonathan my jacket with my Shot Bloks around the 10k point.

Miles 5ish to 7ish were along a straightaway that started to get pretty monotonous.  But the worst was definitely yet to come—around mile 8-9, going uphill, I started to feel severe pain on the outside of my left foot.  Like, not normal pain.  I was having to walk more, but that hurt just as bad.  Poor Jen, I know she didn’t know what to do, but I just started to cry.  The pain was so sharp.  Another lady behind us, bless her heart, did her best to encourage me.

I rushed the finish line, still in terrible pain, at 2 hours, 18 minutes and 48 seconds.  And I fought for every last one.  My goal was to finish under 2:20, and we did just that.  I immediately found a chair and took off my shoes.

Here’s my immediate reaction to the race.

DSC07629 I put on a happy face for Jonathan.

DSC07630

Will I be doing this again any time in future?

DSC07631Uh, negative.

Not saying I won’t do this ever again, but no time soon.  Truth time?  I was undertrained.  I’ve run some longer distances, but honestly and truly, I was not ready for this.  I felt good for a majority of this, and I didn’t feel too defeated by the length of time, but my body just wasn’t ready for the pounding (that’s what she said).

That pain in my foot?  I could barely stand or walk.  It’s Monday, and it still hurts just as bad.  I’ve gotten some feedback, in addition to my personal opinion, and I think I may have a stress fracture in my left foot, and I think I’ve inflamed the plantar fascia in my right.  My quads are screaming, my hips ache, and my shoulders are tight.

My hands were so fat and swollen I couldn’t even get my shoes on; Jonathan had to do it for me.

DSC07639 I did, however, have a bright spot in my day, though:  My foot had an up-close-and-personal experience with a bag of frozen peppers, while my mouth had a hot date with the new spicy chicken biscuit from Chick-Fil-A.

DSC07641 It was awesome!  I took great pleasure in napping it up on the couch and preparing for the snowpocalypse.

Here’s the thing:  I enjoy running.  I needed something to kick my ass back into gear and get back into an activity I love to do.  I think had I done a few more long runs, I probably would have been ok.  I still see a half marathon in my future.  During the run, I was thinking, “Fuck this, my feet fucking hurt, someone please drag me off the fucking course.”  But I knew I would finish.

My plan for the year is to figure in more running days, more races, and more careful planning.  The one thing I’m focusing on is that finished, and I didn’t go insane in the process.  And the Ronald McDonald House holds a special place in my heart; I know many people who have benefited from its benevolence.  So there’s that.

What’s the longest race you’ve ever done, if you run?  What’s the worst race you’ve ever done?  And oh, yeah—any experience with stress fractures out there?

9 responses »

  1. IT sucked, but you did it! And I bet in a few months you’ll be too stupid to remember how much it sucked and sign up for another 🙂 Just like I did with a 10K! haha.

    Seriously though I’m super proud of you!!! You did it girl!

    The only foot pain I’ve had is from spinning in the wrong shoes. But I can tell you ALL about hip pain. Keep icing and try the homeopathic medicine Arnica Montana. It works miracles, I promise!

    Reply
    • I can’t wait to read about your 10k! It seems like you’re running pretty regularly; that makes all the difference, I tell ya. Thanks for the tips, Dr. Laura!

      Reply
  2. Go Summer! I’m sorry to hear about your foot. I don’t know anything about stress fractures, but I hope you have a professional look at it so that you can be back to running as soon as possible. I can’t even imagine running 10 miles right now, so mad props to you for finishing and meeting your goal. Hope your foot feels better soon!

    Reply
  3. You finished, and within your goal time – that is impressive! I have never run a race. I have registered for a couple of 5k over the years, but bottled out. I’m slow, and unfit, and ashamed. The idea of running in front of others at the moment horrifies me.

    Reply
  4. You’re right: I didn’t know what to do! I knew you didn’t want to stop, but I felt so badly for you that I wanted you to stop or lean on me and walk the rest of the way. But everyone’s right: You did it! And you should be really proud of yourself. I think we do need more long runs and more running days in general. Hopefully the weather will cooperate with that so we can get some long runs in before the summer heat hits! I know it sucked, but you rocked it anyway, and you’ll rock your next race, whenver that is, too!

    Reply
  5. Pingback: cracked. « that's what summer said.

Leave a Reply

