RSS Feed

drinkin’ around, the christmas tree…

Posted on

DSC06297

You know how I do.

Believe it or not, I actually had my tree up and decorated by December 1.  (What’s that, I’m a little behind posting?  Meh.  Don’t you want to see lovely pictures of my tree?)  My best friend from high school (and life, in general) came over to have some dinner and help me make things merry and bright.  We decided the tree shouldn’t be the only one getting lit, so Matt brought some fun things to sip on.

DSC06251DSC06290

We had a sampling of a tasty red and a crisp white from World Market.  For dinner, I made Potato and Corn Chowder with a fun addition—two large carrots!  It was not only yummy, but the orange color made me feel like I was eating something cheesy.  Alongside that, we had some Rosemary and Thyme Cornbread with Un-Fried Green Tomatoes.DSC06244DSC06249DSC06248

Ohhhh it was like a party in my mouth.  This especially satisfying since the weather has really started to turn chilly.  The blustery wind always sends me running for my Dutch oven.

When it came time to actually put up the tree, it was like Double-Entendre City.

DSC06242

“Do I just drop it right in?”

DSC06243

“It curves to left, should we just stick it in and then turn the screws?  Is that tight enough?”

DSC06253

“Make sure and spread them wide enough.”

DSC06254

I’m so mature.

Dave wanted to help, too.

DSC06256DSC06257

Let me just say this:  Think long and hard (hehe) about getting a real tree if you have cats.  I did that my first year on my own, and it was just a mess.  Not a wise decision.  This tree is still like an awesome jungle gym to Dave, but it’s not as bad as it would be if I had a real one.

A few glasses of wine and one Mariah Carey album later…

DSC06258DSC06260DSC06262

It’s Christmas, it’s Christmas time!

DSC06286 When did you get your tree up this year (if you have one)?  Are you like me, with a fake pre-lit box tree in three pieces, or do you go big with a nice real tree?

9 responses »

  1. Better late than never and it is a fun post to read. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Love the tree and love you and Matt!! (PS—your food looks amazing! If I bring the wine next time, can you do a rerun of that dinner?!)

    Reply
  3. Cute tree! I have two cats, so I have a fake one as well. I didn’t end up putting it up this year though! Oh well..

    Reply
  4. Love the santa hat as the tree topper! I’ve gone three years without a tree topper now, since I haven’t found one I really love yet. We put our tree up right after Thanksgiving, and yes, it’s a pre-lit box tree. I’m allergic to pine sap, and I can only remember one year growing up when we had a real tree. It smelled amazing, but my dad and I weren’t able to help decorate it or anything!

    Reply
  5. Pingback: ornament sentiments « that's what summer said.

Leave a Reply

