RSS Feed

season’s eatings

Posted on

Hello all!  I have been absent lately.  I’ve just been feeling very uninspired and unmotivated lately :(  This usually happens to me around this time of year:  From November-ish to about April, I just feel miserable and sad.  I think it’s the Seasonal Affective.  I’ve put on a considerable amount of weight since my lowest in April, and it’s starting to take its toll on me:  both physically and emotionally.  I feel like crap from not moving as much, and my moods are just all over the place.

Anyhow!  No one wants to hear my depressing ramblings.  How was your Thanksgiving holiday?!  Mine was pretty good.  Our family get together was small, but fun.  I love seeing my grandparents (my mom’s parents).  They are just the cutest couple.

DSC06202 DSC06204

My grandfather has had some health scares in the past, with a heart attack and a case of diverticulitis.  My grandmother has had okay health, but she had a heart attack earlier this year  when she came off one of her medications.  I can’t imagine life without the two of them!  I find myself wanting to see and talk to them more; I think it also has to do with the death of my dad’s mom last June.  She had Alzheimer’s, and my last memories of her are very painful.  I love my family, and I want to  savor every moment that I can with them.

I had planned on making a special green bean dish for the meal, but I ended up scrapping it and only making the Pumpkin Mac and Cheese from Broke-Ass Gourmet that I’m always obsessing over.  I was afraid my family would be weirded out by it, but I think it was well received!  Here’s what I had:

DSC06191

That’s my mom’s amazing dressing, a little turkey (which my mom made in the crock pot!!) some ham, sweet potatoes, green beans (made by my granddad), regular mac and cheese, cranberry sauce and my pumpkin mac.  Sounds like a lot, but I really only had a small sampling of each.  This is the only plate of food I had!

It’s starting to get a little chillier here in Alabama, but over the holiday I barely even needed a coat!  There are other signs of the changing seasons, though.

DSC06188 I just love this gorgeous tree in my aunt’s front yard!

After we finished eating, we headed back to my parents’ house to hang out…and get ready for Black Friday.  (That’s right, I went—please don’t judge.  My sister and I have gone the past several years, and most of the time it’s just for fun.  This year we had a mission, and we were back home by 7am!)  There was a fun game of dominoes:DSC06205 And some browsing through old yearbooks:

DSC06210

Sweet fashion.

 DSC06211 My mom went to school with Don Draper—true story!  However, he was much less dapper when he was named Mr. Band.

The Thursday paper was ridiculous:

DSC06170 As was this ad in one of the sales papers:

DSC06209 Hahaha…..I giggled for a while over that one.

I would close this out by asking you how your Thanksgiving was, but I know I’m a little behind!  I’m sure many of you are preparing for Christmas by now.  Question:  What are your Christmas plans regarding family?  Christmas Eve was always reserved for my dad’s family, and Christmas Day or sometime after we would go see my mom’s parents.  Now I have Jonathan’s family to consider, too. 

4 responses »

  1. Yearbooks have to be one of the coolest American traditions!

    I’m so glad that you’re spending more time with your grandparents. I left it too late with my grandfathers, and my Great Grandpa. Now I’m making the most of those I have left.

    Juggling families is so tricky over Christmas. Patrick’s parents are divorced, while mine are separated. This year, the plan is Christmas Day at my dad’s with my mum, brother and sister; Boxing Day at ours with Patrick’s mum, her best friend, and Patrick’s sister and brother-in-law; and 27th at Patrick’s granny’s house with his dad, step-mum, sister and brother-in-law! We saw all of my extended family yesterday. Phew! I think I’ll have an early night on NYE to have a rest!

    Reply
    • Yearbooks really are fun! It’s interesting to go back and look at my parents’…and also to look at my sister and me in the 90s! Some really unfortunate fashions on us as well, sadly.

      Sounds like you have a busy holiday season coming up! Good luck managing it all!

      Reply
  2. This Christmas I’ll be with my parents, sister, brother-in-law (still so cool to say that!), my mom’s parents, my aunt, uncle, and cousin and the BF PLUS 3 dogs and 1 cat. Phew! How will we all fit in my parents’ house?? I just know that I’ll be stuck sleeping on an air mattress in the family room for two nights…where everyone congregates since it’s one big open room with the kitchen. So no sleeping in for me!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

