RSS Feed

…and one pasta with meatless balls

Posted on

It tastes the same! (If you close your eyes…)

So, how exciting to have gotten a shout-out for the second challenge of Rachel’s Project Tasteless??  What up, s’more?!

Now, down to business.  As you know, it’s squash season, and you can find a wide variety for hella cheap all over.  The other night at Publix, I picked up a butternut and a spaghetti squash.

First up:  spaghetti squash.

DSC05047 It make seem a little intimidating, but I swear it’s not.  First you need to preheat the oven to about 375degrees.  While things are heating up, take a big-ass knife and hack this thing in two.

DSC05049 What a lovely shade of yellow!

Next, you’ll need to take a spoon and scrape out all the guts till it’s nice and clean.

DSC05050 DSC05051

Place the squash, cut sides down, in a glass baking dish.  I also put tiny bit of water in the dish as well.  Roast for 30-40 minutes, remove, and let cool for a while.  You’re going to have to let it cook enough to hold so that you can scrape out the strands.

DSC05055 Once it’s cool enough, use a fork to scrape top to bottom.

DSC05057Check those strands!

I always scrape out every last bit that I can.  Discard the shells.

Now…what to serve with not-really-spaghetti squash?  How about…meatless balls?

I’m talking lentil meatballs.

This has been floating around in my head for a while, so I finally just started searching online till I found what I was craving.  I used this recipe from the Yuca Diaries. I made a few modifications, though.  I used Panko instead of bread crumbs, egg substitute, and no Parm (I didn’t have any).  I did toss some mozz in for good measure, though.  I also didn’t puree the lentils; I just smashed them up with a potato masher.

DSC05053 All mixed up (don’t know what to do, next thing you turn around find that person is you…)

DSC05054

I rolled the mixture into several meatballs and placed them in the freezer till I was ready for them.  (Did this do any good?  I don’t know, but it seemed like a good idea at the time.)

DSC05056 I tried a few different methods for cooking.  I fried some lightly in a small amount olive oil, then moved them to a baking sheet to  finish cooking.  I put a few on the baking sheet (“raw”) to cook once the squash was out.  Verdict:  The sheet must not have been greased well enough, because the “raw” ones stuck kinda bad.

I did a final batch by placing about an inch or so of oil in a pot and dropping them in when it was good and out.  They were perfection!  Once I poured out the excess, I noticed that the actual meatballs didn’t soak up too much.  I think the trick is to get it really, really hot.

DSC05058

Look at those gorgeous, beautiful brown(ed) balls.  Get in my mouth!

I topped the squash with some sauce and mixture of sautéed yellow squash and mushrooms that were close to meeting their maker.  On top of that, meatless balls!

DSC05060 People have asked me, “Oh, does it taste just like pasta??”  Uhhhh, negative.  It’s not supposed to, really.  That would be like me giving you a glass of tap water and asking you to pretend like I’ve just poured you a martini.  BUT spaghetti squash is a nice way to mix things up.  The texture in the slightest bit crunchy, with a bit of a nutty taste. (that’s what—wait, what?)

Have you ever made spaghetti squash before?  Do you do a lot of meatless meals?

5 responses »

  1. I am SO intimidated by spagehetti squash! You make it look like no big deal 🙂 and those “meatless balls” are genious! 🙂

    Reply
  2. must try these lentil meatballs!!! I have been looking for new lentil recipes everwhere!

    they look tasty 🙂 thank you!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: risottOH!: how to make a butternut squash your bitch. « that's what summer said.

Leave a Reply

