RSS Feed

“remember that time ross said, ‘squatternut bosh’?”

Posted on

Hahaha…I love Friends.  What about you?  It’s probably one of my very favorite shows—it’s so quotable!

Last night, Jen called me up to see Roomie Reagan and I would like to come over for dinner.  Her suggestion:  Rachel’s recently posted recipe for Butternut Squash Pizza.

We took a few short cuts with pre-cut (frozen) butternut squash and pre-made dough from Whole Foods (which Jen so generously picked up).  Have you ever tried to cut up a b-nut squash?  Let me just tell you, it is a bitch to do.

Jen rolled out the dough with some cornmeal on the bottom, and we pre-baked it a little bit before going to town.  Instead of blobbing the ricotta, she spread it out over the length of the dough.

DSC05068Another shortcut:  Jen caramelized the onions instead of roasting them before we got to her place.  Look at that gorgeous color!

DSC05064

There were green beans with dill on the side:

DSC05062

A lovely before shot:

DSC05069 Aaaaaand a pre “get-in-my-belly” shot:

DSC05071 Verdict:  Yummy!  We sprinkled basil and thyme over the ricotta, and tossed some minced garlic in the mix as well.  I think that this would have been uh-maz-ing with a swirl or two of pesto.  Jen mentioned that could probably add a little chopped spinach, too.

What’s your favorite unconventional pizza recipe?  I make a mean Mexican pizza that I’ll have to post soon

***Note:  I entered Carly’s Great Blogger Pumpkin Carving Contest!  I was going to say you should, too…but it looks like today is the last day 😦  That’s what I get for entering/getting on the bandwagon so late!  Check out her blog and some of the other pumpkin entries in the comments.

5 responses »

  1. I love love love Friends and when I saw you tweet that title earlier, I knew exactly what you were talking about. 🙂 That pizza looks yummy!

    Reply
  2. I’m so glad you made it!! Looks delicious…I’m still craving it…

    Reply
  3. When I was a kid I used to order pizza with no toppings and no cheese. Yes, just bread and sauce. Now that I’m all grown up I just order breadsticks and call it a meal.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

