RSS Feed

lemme butter your biscuit

Posted on

Oh would you please?

As I mentioned earlier, I put a might tasty biscuit in my mouth last Saturday.  It’s been floating around my head, the idea of a pumpkin biscuit.  So I decided to finally execute my plan.  Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/2 cup canned pure pumpkin
  • 1/4-1/3 cup almond milk, original unsweetened (you can use any kind you like; this is what I had on hand)
  • 1/4 stick butter, melted (I used Blue Bonnet light, again, what I had)
  • pumpkin pie spice

First, blend (or vigorously stir) your pumpkin, milk and butter.  It will look gorgeous.

DSC04782 Yeah…my butter wasn’t quite melted.  What can I say?  I’m impulsive.

Can you see what’s in the background?

DSC04783 Boo-yah!  I bought myself a giant-ass jug of Pumpkin Spice creamer.  I’m in love…

Back to my biscuits!  Combine your dry ingredients.

DSC04786 Well, they aren’t combined in this picture, but you get the idea.  (It’s not shown here, either, but add a generous sprinkle of your pumpkin pie spice.)  Carefully add the wet ingredients to the flour and such.

DSC04787 If it’s a little too thin, you can add some milk.  I made these as drop biscuits, just scooping out blobs onto a greased cookie sheet, shaping them like I wanted.

DSC04790 This made about 6 regular biscuits and two slightly smaller ones.  Bake for about ten minutes or so…or until done.  (I never really time things.)

These ROCKED!  They had a nice crust, but were still fluffy on the inside.  I split them, drizzled a little on the bottom half, and devoured them with a turkey sausage patty.  On the side, J made a 2-egg omelet-type thing with a little pepper jack.

DSC04801 You should make these this weekend.  Or tonight.

Who doesn’t love breakfast for dinner?!

What other sorts of pumpkin recipes have you tried so far?  I came across Pumpkin Enchiladas on Kat’s blog today, and I can’t wait to work ‘em in next week.

Leave a Reply

