RSS Feed

in my mouth: it’s fall, y’all!

Posted on

Phew!  It’s been a while since I’ve done a wrap-up of what I ate over the weekend.  And granted, I know it’s Thursday, but you know what?  I’m going to own the fact that I want to write about it all, even several days later.  I’m sorry I’m not sorry.

Anyway, Friday:  I made the most delicious roasted vegetable sandwich with some zucchini, squash and mushrooms that were hanging out in my fridge.  I sliced the squash up diagonally and marinated them in balsamic, along with some baby bella mushrooms, for about 30 minutes.  I let George take care of the rest, grilling them until they were nice and hot and displaying grill marks, branded like a tattooed teen girl fresh from Panama City on Spring Break.

Can I just take a moment to sing the praises of my GF grill?  Honestly.  I was given this one a while back, used but free, and I used it all the time.  Love it.

Ok.

I spread pesto on each side of a HFCS-free sandwich thin, sprinkling feta on one half.  Into the toaster oven they went.  Once the feta was melted, I layered the veggies on one half, topped with the other, and slapped it back onto the grill to mash it all together.

DSC04743 On the side, I sauteed some fresh green beans with dill and a sprinkling of Parm.  Super good.

After dinner, I met up with some friends over at Speakeasy  for $2 beers.

DSC047472 DSC04752

You know I’m on that.

I had a tasty local brew—Good People Brown Ale—and maybe a few others.  Hey, when the company is good, the taps are flowing and the prices are right, I just can’t help it!

DSC04751 DSC04746 DSC04748 DSC04754

That’s me and J (obv), Reagan and Antonio, and Dennis and Reagan (again).

I love all the crap on the walls at Speakeasy:

DSC04757 DSC04759

On Saturday, I got the chance to experiment with a recipe that’s been in my head for a while:  Pumpkin Biscuits!

DSC04801DSC04781

I served them with some turkey sausage and syrup, and part of a cheese omelet-ish on the side. And of course, some coffee in my San Diego Starbucks mug.  (Pssst….you know that’s Pumpkin Spice creamer tingeing my coffee a delicate caramel color!)

No worries, I will share the recipe.  They were so easy, especially since I made them as drop biscuits.  They were fluffy and light, like biscuits, but with the flavor of pumpkin bread.  Hella good.

I headed to Craig’s Saturday afternoon to catch the Auburn game.  We rocked it!  A huge win over Arkansas gave Auburn a boost in the rankings.  There are no words to describe my excitement for the LSU game this weekend.

We snacked on leftover chili for dinner, and I was craving a little something sweet.

DSC04810 So I made myself an ice cream cone with Publix Pumpkin Pie ice cream!  It was so good, nice and spicy with crust chunks and swirls of cream.  Perfection 🙂

On Sunday, Jonathan made me this rockin’ egg sandwich with turkey and cheese.  I smeared some yellow mustard on the bun for good measure.

DSC04812 I had to rush home to get ready for Jen’s birthday, as I was responsible for cupcakes.  I used this recipe from Megan.

DSC04835 More on this recipe later as well!

Well, there you have it:  mouth treats for the past weekend.  I have tons of new recipes to share with you all, and I can’t wait to get caught up.  I’m heading home to my college town for homecoming this coming weekend, so much fun is sure to be had.  What tasty things have you put in YOUR mouth this week??

Leave a Reply

