RSS Feed

two weddings and a football game

Posted on

Phew!  I feel like I have been going nonstop for the past few weeks.  Last weekend was so jam-packed, I’ve been trying to take it easy.  It all started right after work on Friday.  Jonathan’s cousin Stephanie was getting married on Saturday, and she invited me to join the family for the rehearsal dinner at Cocina Superior.  We had some yummy appetizers to start off with, along with the standard fare at Mexican restaurants, chips and salsa.

DSC04413

Excuse the blurriness…I was trying to take food pictures without drawing a lot of attention to myself in such a large group 🙂  This platter included mini quesadillas, chimichangas, beef flautitas, pico, guac, and some sort of queso.  (There may have been other stuff on there; I’m not really familiar with Cocina’s menu.)

For my meal, I ordered the Baja Veggie Wrap.  It consisted of mushrooms, corn, beans, onions, broccoli, squash, and some other veggies in a sundried tomato wrap.

DSC04418DSC04417

It came with rice on the side and two sauces.  I was a little leery of the green one and stuck with the red sauce.

Jonathan ordered the Enchiladas al Carbon:  beef topped with Ranchera salsa and a side of Spanish rice and beans.

DSC04419

As  you might could tell, he was into it.  My dinner was quite good as well.

DSC04421DSC04422

I want to make an animated .gif of these two pictures.

The next day, Saturday, was the wedding itself.  After busting my ass in the heat for Race for the Cure, crashing for a nap, and biting my nails over the Alabama game (vs. South Carolina), I headed out to Jonathan’s parents’ house for Stephanie’s wedding.  (They tied the knot at the clubhouse in their development.)

I arrived about 5 minutes late.  I thought I could manage some sneakery and slip in the back.  Little did I know, it wouldn’t be necessary.  Why, you may ask?  The preacher was late.  And he continued to be late.  It was right up until about 45 minutes AFTER time for the wedding to have commenced when he graced us all with his pastorly presence.

Being that he was an integral part of this whole wedding thing, everyone was a little miffed.  You might be wondering what was so important that he couldn’t manage to make it to the church clubhouse on time.  Well, remember that football game I mentioned?  Between number one ranked Alabama and 19-ranked South Carolina?

That’s right.  He was watchin’ the Bama game.  Shortly after he took his place at the front on the altar, he apologized profusely….aaaaand then he said this:  “I’m sorry, but WHO schedules a wedding during the Alabama game?!?”

??????

Are you serious?  You’ve just possibly ruined the most special day in a girl’s life, and you are complaining?!

DSC04449He almost looks pleased with himself.  Get a clue, sir.

And by the way, in case you haven’t heard or don’t give a rip about the SEC, Alabama lost that game.  (Of course, I spent a better part of the reception glued to a tiny TV watching the Kentucky-Auburn game, but at least I wasn’t officiating anything.  And I was kinda on time to the big show.)

Stephanie looked beautiful when she said I do to her husband, David:

DSC04461 DSC04469aMen in uniform are hot.  I felt like Rachel in Friends and wanted to lean over to Jonathan and say, “Do you think we can get you one of those uniform things?”

And I got to sit next to this little guy during the ceremony:

DSC04448

That would be Nicholas, Jonathan’s nephew.  I’m still a little scared of him, since most babies freaking terrify me.  But he didn’t bite…much.

There was plenty of fruit and some veggie crudités at the reception for me to munch on, chased by a Sammy Octoberfest and a Sierra Nevada Pale Ale.

DSC04445aGratuitous shot of me and J, putting on our happy, “where-the-hell-is-the-preacher” faces.

When I finally left the wedding, and after some much-needed screaming/yelling/celebrating the Auburn victory over Kentucky (it was a hard-fought game) in the car, I headed home to catch some zzzzs.  That’s because I had yet another wedding to attend on Sunday.  Over two hours away.  My friend Kaitie got married in Huntsville against the most breathtaking mountain backdrop.

DSC04527 DSC04528 DSC04529 DSC04530

It was a really lovely wedding with perfect weather.  And I got to spend some time with my sister, too, since she lives in Huntsville.  We ran by her place before and after the ceremony, having a quick dinner before hitting the road to head back to Birmingham.  Autumn had to show off her special delivery:

DSC04553

Apparently Jax, her cat, loves this shoebox.  He got back in there later on and brought one of his toys 🙂  And yes, my older sister wears a 6.5 shoe, in case you were wondering.  Baby feet.

So…that’s weddings number three and four for the year.  And this is a slow season for me!  I think we might have one more coming up, but I’m not really sure.  Do you go to a lot of weddings?  Do you stress about what to wear?  (I apparently do.)  Have you been in many weddings?  As I have said before, I have been in NINE.

3 responses »

  1. I can’t believe the officiant was late because of a game! And had the audacity to complain about it?! Wow… I would be horrified.

    And yes, men in uniform are incredibly hot. My husband attracts a rediculous amount of attention whenever he wears his Class A’s to anything. 😛

    Reply
  2. Yum — love some Mexican food. Wow, her dress was gorgeous! I’m slightly wedding obsessed. And a literal LOL for being terrified of babies — me too, girl.

    Reply
  3. And responding to your note on my blog re: torn ACL — YES, I was playing soccer, too. The first was a partial ACL tear and my meniscus was allllll messed up. Then I fully tore my ACL the 2nd time. Right now I have a partial MCL tear. Oy. But I love/loved me some soccer. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

