RSS Feed

can you ever just be “whelmed”?

Posted on

I think you can in Europe.

Oh. Mah. Gah.  I feel so overwhelmed this week!  The weekend was so jam-packed, and I feel like there’s something every single night this week, too.  Tuesday Jonathan and I had date night, last night some of us met up to watch a movie and make gumbo (recipe later), tonight we’re carving pumpkins and eating chili, Friday J and I are supposed to go see the Alabama Symphony…good grief, it never stops!  Then I have plans for Saturday and Sunday, too.  Sometimes I just want to sit at home, curl up under the covers and stay there.

I’ve stayed at work for lunch a few times this week, too, trying to get stuff done.  I went to Newk’s and stretched a sandwich out over two lunches.  I had the vegetarian club, which has red and yellow peppers, portabella mushrooms, goat cheese and pesto.

Uhhhhhhh, yeah.  Don’t mind if I do.

On the side, I got some “Tippah County” Caviar.

You might know this as Cowboy Caviar or just a sort of cold bean salad.  It’s black-eye peas, peppers, onion and some sort of oily-vinegary dressing.  I was going to go with the fruit cup, but then I remembered the big-ass Honeycrisp apple waiting on me in the work fridge.

I have so many things to blog about, but I just need the world to stop spinning for a sec so that I can get myself together.  In the meantime, here are some adorable pictures of Dave.

 

yes, those would be my dark pants that Dave is currently resting on, wrapping them up in his butterscotch fur like a present for me.

Fitness mag, computer, nail polish, Carmex...Dave was planning a spa night in for himself.

Oh, and I almost forgot!  We found a puppy at work.  He was just wandering the streets, covered in dirt and car exhaust.  Here are some before and after shots of him (the after was after he’d been bathed).

Isn’t he just the cutest little guy???  I’d love to keep him, but there’s no way I’d be able to have him at my apartment.  (Not to mention, Dave would flip out.)  My parents were going to adopt him, but I think we successfully found a home for this precious pup.  It makes me so sad to see animals out and about, homeless and scared.  Have you ever rescued an animal?  I totally felt like we’d done our good deed for the day when we saved this little guy.


 

 

6 responses »

  1. I often “brake” for dogs. Unfortunately, the animal shelter here in Calhoun County is MOST unhelpful, animal control is even worse, and the vet I go to has stopped taking in stray animals (they say it’s a danger to the other animals they have, but I think it’s a money issue, like everything else), so when *I* take them in, they have no place to go if I can’t find a friend who wants them. 😦 So I’ve started keeping Dog Chow in my car all the time, so that I can at least feed the strays I find.

    All 3 of my family’s dogs (including my sweet girl, Molly) are rescued dogs. I would take in more if I could, but unfortunately finances prevent me from doing so.

    SO glad you found a home for the sweet little guy! He is precious.

    Reply
  2. OMG!! He looks almost just like my dog Katie (who lives with my parents!!)!! It’s a good thing you found a home for him before I saw this post or I would’ve had to adopt. He’s too cute!

    Reply
  3. Love the title of this post because I was just thinking about “…but I LOVE my Prada backpack” when I was thinking about white girl problems the other day!

    Reply
  4. I make that caviar all of the time! Nick’s family call it Redneck Caviar. Haha!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

