RSS Feed

nutty for squash

Posted on

So…I’ve been having some pretty good runs!  Wednesday, Craig and I did our typical 3 mile at the local running store (free beer after, holla), and I was feeling alright…till I tripped, that is.  That’s right, I did a twisty-flop extraordinaire and almost busted my ass.

Note the key word, “almost.”  It hurt like a mother, but not as much as my pride would have had I fallen full out.

Last night we also did three miles, running the race route for Saturday’s Race for the Cure.  This was my very first 5k last year, so I’m anxious to run it again!  I felt pretty exhausted for some reason, though, so I took it easy.  I don’t want to feel worn out this weekend.  I think my body is just getting used to running again several times a week.

So anyway, Wednesday.  I think I’ve said this before, but whenever I’m running (or exercising…or you know, breathing), I think about food.  What I’m going to eat that night/afternoon.etc.  And after my unplanned (almost) face-plant, I really wanted something warm and comforting when I got home.  I bought an acorn squash last week and have been dying to experiment.  I started searching the webz for inspiration, and I saw this on Kath’s blog:  Cranberry Walnut Stuffed Acorn Squash.

I started by slicing the acorn the squash in half ( I cut my differently than she did) and scooping out the guts (you can see that in the background).

DSC04338

I placed it cut side down in a shallow pan with about half an inch of water.  (I used Kath’s directions for the cooking of squash, too.)

I took it out after about 30-40 minutes and then sprinkled the open faces with a mixture of a little cinnamon and sugar.  For the filling, I used some previously cooked Kashi rice pilaf that I had stored in my fridge.  I also chopped up some pecans and toasted them on the stovetop until they started to get nice and warm.

DSC04342DSC04345

I then mixed in some dried cranberries.  Kath uses some goat cheese, but since I didn’t have any but still wanted that tart flavor, I used feta.

DSC04347 (minus cheese at this juncture)

Then I put it in the oven for a little while longer to melt the cheese.  I’d also roasted some broccoli previously to have on the side.

DSC04361

Was it good?

DSC04362

Uh, yeah.  So good that you should run and make it now!

As always, there was beer.

DSC04354

 

Still working my way through about a half case of these.  So good and warm and toasty and sweet.

Have you taken advantage of the fall squash season yet?  What’s your favorite fall squash or food?  Are like me and majorly digging on some fall Oktoberfest and pumpkin beers?

PS  I could not figure out what that fuzzy haze was on some of my pictures above.  Then I took a closer look…and realized that there was a smudge on my camera lens.  Oops…

4 responses »

  1. Confession: Acorn squash intimidate me! 😦 But you seem to have tamed them

    Reply
  2. I don’t usually go for sweet dinner options but that sounds really good. I was too lazy/wet/cold to bother looking for squash at the farmer’s market in the rain yesterday. Bad Sarah, bad.

    Reply
  3. Love, love, love all kinds of squash! A few days ago I made an amazingly yummy risotto with butternut squash and chicken that I plan on sharing on my blog sometime soon. I haven’t gotten any acorn squash yet this fall, so that might be on my next shopping list!

    Reply
    • Imma have to try that risotto; I saw that recipe on your blog. A friend of mine posted a butternut and blue cheese risotto that’s on my list, too. Most squashes are on sale around here right not, I need to stock up!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

