RSS Feed

the pineapple incident

Posted on

I love the idea of combining sweet and savory dishes. One of my favorite ways to do this is by incorporating fruit with dinner. I love to make pineapple with chicken and burgers and in stir fry with peanut sauce. (Also: Rachel makes a great dish with apples and sausage.) I typically always use canned pineapple, but while shopping the aisles, this tropical beauty spoke to me.

IMG_0240

“Pick me up,” she said. “Use me…have your way with me.”

How could I refuse? Into the cart she went.

In the past, I have allowed the pineapple to intimidate me. I mean, look at it.

IMG_0240

Turns out, it’s not so scary. Read on for a step by step on how to work your way around this charming fruit.

When shopping for the perfect pineapple, use your senses of sight and smell. Go for one that has golden yellow tones in the body and a nice sweet smell. As is customary with other fruits, avoid those with bruising or off-putting odors. Look for pineapples that had a symmetric pattern in the squares.

Start by cutting off the top and bottom of the pineapple.

IMG_0241

Using a very sharp knife, slice off the sides all the way around.

IMG_0242

I used a pointy thing to pick out all the pits and seeds on the sides.  Cut the pineapple into quarters, then trim off the tip/hard core off each quarter.  On this particular night, we cut the quarters into smaller spears and grilled them.  You can do that, or…

DSC04089

…you can make this awesome pineapple-mango salsa from The Pioneer Woman!

DSC04088 DSC04090

We used mango, pineapple, red onion, jalapeno, lime juice and parsley (because we didn’t have cilantro).  You can get the actual recipe from the link above.  We served the salsa on top of grilled flounder seasoned with dill, with roasted broccoli and parmesan.

DSC04105

I also had some chips and Newman’s Own Farm Fresh salsa on the side.

DSC04107

Are there any fruits or vegetables that intimidate you?  I really want to try Brussels sprouts, but I think they’re scary.  And that’s just the beginning…there are plenty others I want to get in my mouth!  What about you?

One response »

  1. Pineapple defintely intimidates me. Until this post, I really had no idea how to prepare it.

    I have an awesome recipe for brussels sprouts. Let me know if you’re interested!

    squashcakes (at) yahoo (dot) com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

