RSS Feed

beer run

Posted on

After my poor showing at the 5k last week, I’m determined to make up for it at October 9’s Race for the Cure.  I mean, I guess it wasn’t necessarily a poor showing, but I really want to do well at RFTC—my very first 5k last year.  I want so badly to get under 35 minutes.  It’s just that it’s so hot outside and I haven’t—wait, scratch that.  No more excuses.  I don’t need to make any more excuses.  I need to suck it up and run.

On Thursday, I took a step in the right direction.  Actually, several.  Craig and I decided to run Highland, which is a street in my neighborhood.  We figured we could do a little over 3 miles, possibly walk when we needed to.

Did I mention we had a few ulterior motives?

We’re looking for a very specific beer.  And right now, it only comes in a mix pack.  The beer:  Sam Adams Harvest Pumpkin Ale.

9f146f8c-313e-45ec-80aa-d0c029c10d85 source

Have you had this?  It’s so delicious.  It’s perfectly spiced, just perfect.  (I can’t wait to make Rache’l’s beer bread with it.)  We’re desperate for it to come in a six-packs, but for now, we’re making do.

Anyway. I digress.  Here’s the route we ran on Thursday:

beer run

Yeah…see all those water stops?  One of them was a Chevron station, the other a Western Supermarket, and the last, a Piggly Wiggly.  And we stopped at each one…to check out their beer selection.  In our defense, we also got water at the first stop.  And at the second stop, we found something wonderful (more in a sec), and the third held the coveted mix pack we were looking for.

In the end, we did a little over 3.5 miles.  It was tough, I’m not going to lie.  I was tired, it was hot, and the sweat started to sting my eyes.  But I’m glad I did it.  (Side note:  I’m a little nervous to run by myself in our neighborhood right now.  A woman was attacked, and they are still on the lookout for the man that did it.  I feel much better with Craig at my side, but that means no impromptu, right-out-the-door runs for right now.)

But back to the wonderful luck:  While Craig and I were taking a breather at the Western Supermarket, we came across a large display of beer.  I noticed a sign, and I tapped Craig on the shoulder to make sure it was right.  “6-pack bottles,” it said, “$4.99.”  What beer was it, you ask?  Coors Light?  Natty?  Nope.

DSC03973

It was Great Divide.  I LOVE most every GD beer I’ve had.  (Haha….GD beer.)  I picked up these two, but they also had the Hoss.  I may have to go back.  Yeah, I know I can only drink so much at once, but you can’t even find mediocre beer this cheap, really.  It’s like I don’t want to waste the opportunity.

I’d say it was a pretty productive run.

Do you plan your run around water stops?  I never even thought about stopping in at the Chevron to get water, as many times as I have run the area.  I think that’s because it was always winter time, and now that it’s hot, I’ll lap water out of a ditch to get hydrated.  Luckily, I had different form of hydration waiting on me when I got back.  (Note:  We went back and picked up these beers; we did not attempt to run home while juggling six packs.)

Leave a Reply

