RSS Feed

wtf: what the friday?! girls gone wild

Posted on

So remember a few weeks back, when I told you about the girl who had acid thrown in her face outside a coffee shop? Well, in a strange twist, it turns out it was all a hoax. She did it to herself. Who the heck would DO something like that? I don’t even like washing my face when I have a sunburn. I can’t imagine giving myself an acid facial, even as much as I love being the center of attention. Apparently people became suspicious when she cancelled her appearance on Oprah. Apparently, she wrote a note on her Facebook page saying that she originally wanted to be on the show so she could “tell people about Jesus.” Newsflash: Jesus doesn’t like liars very much. Additionally, another woman who was a real victim of what is being considered a copycat attack, speaks out about the faker, Bethany Storro.

This morning on the Today show I saw this clip about a mother concerned with the lyrics to a cheer that her six-year-old was performing. After she complained to the coach, her daughter was promptly removed from the squad. Apparently the coach also referred to the mother as a “lunatic” when speaking to another news outlet. In the 500th hour of the Today show, Kathie Lee told Hoda Kotb that the coach sounded like Sue Slyvester from Glee. First, I say don’t insult Jane Lynch in such an impertinent manner. Secondly…I don’t know that having Kathie Lee come to your defense really helps the whole, “I’m not a lunatic” thing.

As for the cheer, here is the allegedly risqué chant: “Our backs ache/our skirts are too tight/we shake our booties from left to right.” I don’t necessarily know if this is so much suggestive as it is just…dumb. “Our backs ache/our skirts are too tight”? These kids are practically toddlers, for cryin’ out loud. Whatever happened to two bits, four bits?

While looking for this story to link to, I found other much more alarming stories, like this one about mothers taking their preteen daughters to have their body hair waxed—before puberty has even had the chance to come knocking. “For waxing, 12 years old is the ‘new normal,’ ” says aesthetician Melanie Engle. One mom even requested that a stylist wax her daughter’s back hair; the little girl was just six years old. My mom waited forever to even let me shave my legs! And now, I wish she never would have.

And now, for something that makes me happy: The very first plus-size-only runway show at New York Fashion Week. It’s so nice and refreshing to see bigger girls making a big splash. Check out some of the looks featured on the runway over at InStyle. In attendance were Nikki Blonsky (Hairspray), KayCee Stroh (High School Musical), Gabourey Sidibe (Precious) and one of my personal favorites, Emme.

It’s interesting to look through these photos and see what qualifies as “plus-size.” Many people (me included) might glance and say, “Why, these women are perfectly normal-sized!” And they are—when it comes to everyday women. But as one of my idols (and major girl crush) Crystal Renn stated, in the fashion world, plus-size just means “plus the norm.” So if the typical model is a size 2—then yeah, even a size 10 is considered “plus-size.” Excellent perspective.

How’s your Friday so far?

One response »

  1. I love Emme! I remember she used to host a makeover show back in the day. I’d watch it with this little girl that I babysat and she’d call it the “hair and makeup show.” She would do my hair while we watched, haha.

    I’ve never gotten on board with the real fashion show stuff. I’m definitely into design when it comes to art, architecture and food but I just don’t “get” fashion. I’ll wait until it trickles down the pipeline into something this normal (apparently plus sized???) girl can wear 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

