RSS Feed

sixty-nine.

Posted on

Yes, that’s right.  69.  That’s how many views my homepage had today (so far) after writing my ownership article.  Tee-hee!  I don’t care how old I am, the number 69 will always make me giggle.

Now that that’s out of the way, welcome to any of you who made it over via Rachel‘s fabulous post regarding taking ownership of your life and choices.  It feels good to take control and not apologize for being yourself.  I loved reading all of the other stories, too.  It really inspired me to make some major decisions.

I posted a while back about deciding what I want my blog to be about.  And after reading all these lovely and wonderful bloggers and thinking more about myself, I’m getting more direction and finding my way.  I’m not sure if I would be a health, food or fitness blogger.

Am I on a quest to be healthy?  Yes, but I fail sometimes.  I don’t always make the best choices or decisions.  I don’t have the right amount of carbs, proteins and what have you on one plate.  There are times when a friend is over at my apartment, chatting me up, and I’m all, “Uh-huh, yeah, could you please just go so that I chow down on that loaf of French bread behind your head?”

Do I love food?  Absolutely.  Am I smart and savvy about cheese or wine or crazy foods I can’t pronounce?  Not exactly.  But I do love to eat, to cook and to create and try out different recipes and ingredients.  Have I posted pictures of my meals?  Yes.  Do I do it every time?  No.  And I don’t plan on it.  I just like to snap pictures of food that I make that I think is super delicious, creative or especially photogenic.  Or meals at restaurants that I think others might be interested in trying.  But if I have a piece of turkey and some cheese or a leftover piece of pizza for breakfast, I’m not reaching for my Cybershot to document it for all the world to view.

Am I interested in fitness?  Of course!  I have come to really enjoy being active, but I am by no means a fitness diva.  I have found that I really love running.  I also like feeling the muscles in my legs bearing my weight in a tough yoga class.  But you know what?  I’ve spent entire weeks where I was in such a funk that I didn’t leave my apartment.  Or I plan to go to the gym and just crap out.  And as for running, as I said, I’m slow.  I’m not one of those girls who says, “Oh, I’m so slow, I’m just slogging around at a 9-minute mile pace.”  No.  Not me.  But regardless of whether or not I stop to walk or jog on my three-mile run, who cares?  I’m still out there for 45 minutes, sweating my ass off and giving it my all.

So there you have it.  I think that if I had to sum it up:  I’m a life blogger.  I live a real life, I make mistakes, and I love to pour my heart to complete strangers.  Welcome to it!

As for the rest of my day…I had a good lunch.  I was craving pizza, but also chips and salsa.  I made a compromise:  mini pizzas!

On the left, you have red sauce, olives, mushrooms and mozzarella.  On the right, salsa, leftover black beans, pineapple (it was an interesting combination) and cheddar.  On the side, I had some roasted broccoli.

When I got back from my lunch break, I had this little treat waiting for me at work:

My cutie boyfran brought my flowers!  I love little surprises like this.

yep, that's us. doesn't jonathan looked thrilled to have me?

Have you ever gotten flowers?  I had a creepy guy bring them to me on a first date once.  And Jonathan brought my tulips on our 2-year anniversary.  This is the first out-the-blue floral experience.

2 responses »

  1. I have never had a guy bring me flowers! This is something that I secretly wish would happen every time I pass fresh flowers for sale.

    Reply
  2. SO after your comment, I’ve just popped over here and DAMN, GIRL, I think we might be brain twins.

    Especially this bit:

    I’m not one of those girls who says, “Oh, I’m so slow, I’m just slogging around at a 9-minute mile pace.” No. Not me. But regardless of whether or not I stop to walk or jog on my three-mile run, who cares?

    SLOW RUNNER INTERNET HIGH FIIIIVE. Can I add you to my blogroll?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

