RSS Feed

nursing with gnocchi

Posted on

I managed to make it through the day with my poor battered hand.  I shuddered every time I had to wash my hands…it was like all the time I spent waiting for the sting to go away was for naught.  I had some delicious (unpictured) snacks that help soothe the pain, including grapes and a small baby Gala apple.  Lunch was pretty tasty, too.

that creepy dollop is the hummus 🙂

I microwaved this sweet potato for about five minutes (after washing and piercing with a fork a few times) and then topped it with some leftover black beans and some white corn and black bean salsa (overkill, maybe?).

I love the combination of sweet potatoes and black beans.  I remember first reading about it on Caitlin’s blog, but apparently it’s super popular.  I guess everyone has bean there, done that.  (Har har har)  On the side, I had some spinach and artichoke hummus (Sabra brand) and baked Tostito’s scoops chips.  I found myself scooping out bits of the potato with the chips.  It was delightful and filling.

I needed that fuel because I went for a run tonight!  This was the first time I’d been for a run in over a week and the first time I went outside for a run in a few weeks.  It felt really great, though it was 94 plus degrees out, with humidity.  At least there was a mild breeze running.  We went at about 530pm, which doesn’t help, but we like to run Wednesdays at the the running store right after work—there’s a keg and draft beer, along with socializing after 🙂  We covered close to 3 miles, and I worked for every last inch.  (TWSS)  My arms were so tired when I got done…my arms always bother me, more than anything else.

I know it’s probably counter-productive, but whenever I run, all I can think about is what I’m going to eat later.  As we made our way through the residential neighborhood, I kept envisioning what I had in my cabinets and fridge/freezer.  I remembered some sweet potato gnocchi I’d made and frozen some time back and decided to hit the market after my run for some produce.

Note:  I know, I know, I know you shouldn’t go to the grocery store hungry…but I did just that and this is what I ended up with:

  • Local, Alabama-grown sweet potatoes
  • Strawberries
  • Apple
  • Black grapes
  • Broccoli
  • Baby carrots
  • Almond milk (what I originally went for)
  • Creamer
  • Large tub plain nonfat yogurt
  • Pressed powder (I’ve been out FORever)

I feel ok with all my purchases, but still.

For the gnocchi, you can check out the linked recipe above on Kath’s site.  I thawed out the little dumplings, and heated up a skillet with a little butter, so olive oil and rosemary.  I also sprinkled in a little sea salt and some cinnamon.  Meanwhile, I had some broccoli and baby carrots roasting in the oven.  I spritzed a pan with olive oil using my Misto and popped them into the oven at about 350 until they smelled amazing and were a little browned.

With a Pabst!  Just kidding.  It’s water 🙂  I have a TON of pint glasses.

Do you think about food when you’re exercising?  Or at work?  Or in church?  Food stays on the brain for me.

Additionally, I’ll leave you with this funny clip.  You know how much  I love Mad Men and Christina Hendricks, so you can imagine how thrilled I was to see this commercial.

2 responses »

  1. I think about food alllll the time, lol. Your potato looks so good!

    So let me get this straight… you meet up with people, run, then drink beer after? Where do you live and when can I move in?! We so need something cool like that here.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

