RSS Feed

come, feast on my muffins!

Posted on

Last week, I volunteered to bring a dessert-like item to Jen’s for to eat after the lasagna.  I had a muffin recipe I’d wanted to try for a while and I had all the ingredients, so I thought what the heck.  What’s a party without a good muffin?

The recipe I followed was from Taste of Home.  I made a few tweaks, including making them as mini muffins.  You’ll need:

  • 2 eggs, separated (cold eggs work best)
  • 1 stick of butter (I used margarine because that’s what I had)
  • ½ cup sugar (I cut this to 1/3 cup) plus 1 tbsp
  • 1 cup flour (I used whole wheat)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • 3 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1/8 tsp cinnamon
  • Optional:  poppy seeds

Preheat the over to 350, and grease your muffin pan (or use cup liners, like I did…and I spritzed them, too).

You’ll need to separate your eggs first.

Ugh…that first one looks gross.  And not just the picture quality.

Beat the yolks in a small bowl till they’re lemon-colored.

It will look like lemon frosting and you’ll want to eat it—resist.  It won’t taste as good, promise.

Cream together the butter and sugar in a separate bowl, then fold the yolks into that bowl.

After whisking your dry ingredients, add those, too, and stir just until they’re combined, then add the lemon juice and stir until well blended.

Beat the egg whites until stiff peaks form(that’s what she said)—it takes some time, and it will more than double in size, so make sure your bowl is big enough (again, that’s what she said).

Fold those in, too.  Mix in the poppy seeds if you’re using them.

Put about a spoonful of the mixture in each of the muffin cups (if you’re making minis; obviously you’ll need more for bigger muffins).  Mix them the tablespoon of sugar and cinnamon together; sprinkle over the tops.  Bake for about 12 minutes or so for baby muffins like mine, or 20 minutes or so for larger ones.  Honestly, I hardly ever pay attention to time and usually just stick a toothpick in to see when they’re ready to come out.

These were pretty yummy, but IMO, they could have benefited from some lemon zest and maybe a little more lemon juice.  Next time, I also think I’ll skip the cinnamon and sugar and make a glaze with some confectioners sugar and lemon juice for the tops.  (Note:  I made these last week when my cam was still MIA.  Hence, the phone pictures.)

Leave a Reply

