RSS Feed

triathletes do threesomes

Posted on

Yeaaaaaaah they do!

This past Saturday, my sister competed in her first triathlon!  Autumn performed like a total rockstar, finishing under her goal of an hour and a half.  The events were performed backwards, for some reason, with the trail run at the start, then the bike ride, and finally they finished the swim at an indoor swim.  The Hiwaay Sprint Tri in Huntsville is designed for beginners of all ages and sizes, and there were a ton of people that came out to swim, bike, run, bike, swim.

 

Run.

 

 

(that's not her time on the board...she was in the last heat.)

 

Let me tell you a little bit about my sister. Autumn.  She was fairly active in high school, performing with our marching band’s danceline, but not so much after.  After huge life-changing event a few years ago, she found herself living alone in a huge city where she knew no one.  I kept telling Autumn she should start running.  At first she resisted.  Autumn came with me on a 2-mile run during the halftime of the Iron Bowl last November, but she told me she didn’t really like it.  Later on, she would tell me that she just wasn’t ready.

 

Bike.

 

In January of 2010, Autumn decided that she would start the Couch 2 5k program that I had used about six months earlier.  She was determined to run the Rumpshaker 5k with me on March 27.  And she did it, even running the whole 3.1 miles!  Then she did something a little ambitious—she signed up for her 1st 10k May 9, after I promised that I would run it with her.  Tough though it was (including getting lost for the last mile), we finished together.

 

Swim! (and by the way, that makeup never even budged! her coach said she was the most beautiful triathlete she'd ever seen 🙂

 

Shortly after running her 1st 5k, Autumn found a training program was offered through her local Fleet Feet store.  She was going to sign up for the running program, but after realizing that the Monday night runs conflicted with her schedule, she took a leap of faith and signed up for the Tri 101 class.  And the rest is history!

I’m so unbelievably proud of her.  I’m also so excited that she’s taken up something that helps to clear her mind, calm her thoughts, and condition her body.  And now, barely 6 months after she started running, Autumn called me this week to let me know that she just scored a part-time position at the Fleet Feet store in her area!

 

Oooh, that's naughty!

 

I love you, sister!

 

We're like proud parents!!

 

5 responses »

  1. This is amazing!! I was thinking about you a lot, Autumn, on Saturday and crossing my fingers for you. But I knew you could do it!! Nice write up, Summer. So glad you got me running too!!!

    Reply
  2. I am so proud of both of you — you’re wonderful examples of the person I hope to be someday. (Not just in the super-athletic arena, but you’re both cool!)

    Congrats to her on everything. 🙂

    Reply
  3. I LOVE the makeup! I’m going to add that to my future list of must-haves for race events. Congrats to her!!!

    Reply
  4. I’m not sure if it’s the makeup, the smile or the acomplishment, but your sister is glowing! Congrats to her!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

