RSS Feed

in my mouth: pizza, beer, and country cooking

Posted on

Good Monday, all!  I definitely put some delicious things in my mouth this weekend.  After heading up to Huntsville for my sister’s triathlon, J and I made our way south to Gadsden, my hometown, and then to Jacksonville, my college town, for a friend’s going-away celebration.

Before leaving Huntsville, we went to a yummy barbecue restaurant called Moe’s Original Bar-B-Que.  J and I split smoked turkey, red beans and rice, and peas and greens.  Oh, and a big hunk of cornbread.  It was amazing…but unfortunately, no pictures.

After we hit the road (and stopped to buy Kevin a congratulatory bottle of crown), our tummies started to rumble.  We had a little trouble deciding where to feed our faces but finally agreed to go to Blackstone Pub & Eatery (nee Antonelli’s), one of my old haunts from back in the day.

We started with a beer:

McSorley's Irish Black Lager

This was fairly taste.  Warm taste, but with a crispier bite than a porter.  Not my favorite, but I’m glad I tried it.  We took a look at the menu, and decided on The Blackstone.

It had chicken, bacon, sausage, artichokes, banana peppers, tomatoes, onions, pineapples…and more than I can remember.

Melty loaded goodness.

This hit the spot!  I loved the variety of toppings, and it was a fun surprise to get a sweet taste of pineapple every so often.  I picked the jalapenos off my slices.  I can’t stand the heat—no spicy peppers in this mouth.  Luckily, Jonathan loves his peppers.

mmmmm, that's hot!

I had one more (foamy) beer—Red Brick Peachtree Pale Ale.

check out that head. (twss)

I’m not normally one for pale ales, but I wanted to try something different.  It had the characteristic pale ale aftertaste, but it was really pleasant.

After we finished our drinks and boxed up our leftover pie, we drove about 30 minutes southeast to Jacksonville to experience some of this:

Kevin is one of my BFFs from college, and he just got a new job.  More on that later.

Saturday evening, my friend Rachel was kind enough to offer up her apartment as a crashing spot.  On Sunday, we started the hour and a half trek back to Birmingham.  On the road, we debated different options for lunch.  What did we settle on?  Cracker Barrel, the lunch experience.

As per use, our meal started out with a tasty beverage:

just after adding cream...check out the creepy chesire-cat-like face from the camera flash.

While we were waiting, we took turns with the ultimate game of skill:

I'm not even sure of the real name of this game...we'll go with peg hole game. mostly because it sounds a little dirty.

For my meal, I chose the chicken and dumplings, baby carrots, and—much to the disdain of my table neighbors—steamed cabbage.  Trust me when I say it was awesome.

oh, yes.

the smelly lunch intruder...that still tasted so good.

And of course, one can’t left the Cracker Barrel without a trip ’round the old country store portion of the place.  There’s plenty of kountry krap to go around, and tons of disturbing brick-a-brack .  Among the things we found today:

creepy wiener dog figurines? action figures?

look! it's a hot buttered corn dog.

I think I should buy several of these and send them to Caitlin as a congratulatory gift on her book release.

I have always been creeped out by these faceless angels.  Some people think they’re the cutest things ever!!1!!  Not me.

After taking a trip to Sam’s, I made it home by around 3pm.  I decided to make it a productive day, cleaning up, straightening, and putting things on the walls.  By 830pm, I realized I had yet to eat.  I wanted something quick but also tasty, and I was craving pasta.  I opened up the fridge and saw this giant-ass jar of artichokes and decided on sort of a Mediterranean-style pasta.

I tried to take some pictures while I was prepping, but my camera died.  Luckily, I charged it up with enough juice to snap a picture of the finished product.

workin on my macro shots.

This pasta had crispy pan-cooked tempeh marinated in pesto, baby bella mushrooms, artichoke hearts, sun dried tomatoes, olives, and reduced-fat Italian cheese blend.  It was exactly what I wanted…I just didn’t know it till I made it.

What delicious food treats were featured in, on, or around your mouth area this weekend?

One response »

  1. I like the “peg hole game” too. J & I used to go to Cracker Barrel every other week and he was always smarter than me. Loves Cracker Barrel breakfast. Mmmm…turkey sausage!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

