RSS Feed

stir(fry) it up

Posted on

Sometimes I have a lot of leftovers in my fridge that need to be used before they begin knitting their own sweaters.  One of the easiest ways to use up food is with a stir fry.  This is also a good option if you are in the position I was in today:  craving something tasty but at a loss for the time required to usually creat said tasty dishes.

In my fridge:

  • pineapple
  • Kashi 7-grain pilaf, cooked
  • soy sauce
  • lime juice
  • vegetables (freezer, technically)

I also had a little peanut sauce leftover from last week.  I added a little bit of the necessary ingredients to make some more for my lunch.  To make the sauce (taken from a BH&G cookbook my ma gave me), use the following:

  • 1 tablespoon natural peanut butter (I use crunchy)
  • 1/2 tbsp lime juice
  • 1/2 tbsp low sodium soy sauce
  • pinch red pepper flakes (I’m a wimp, so I don’t use much)

Heat in the microwave for about 10-15 seconds and stir to combine.

In a skillet sprayed with non-stick cooking spray, stir fry the frozen vegetables until soft.  Add the pineapple chunks, then the Kashi pilaf (or brown rice, or even noodles).  Drizzle your peanut sauce on top and let it all heat up.

I topped the mixture off with some sesame seeds for a slight crunch.

Delish!

What kind of leftover combinations have you created?  What’s your go-to lunch option when you’re in a time crunch?

4 responses »

  1. i love the addition of peanut butter! i would never have thought of that but it makes perfect sense! yum 🙂

    Reply
  2. Me and stir fry… we have issues. We have been separated for years now and are in counseling. I hope it’s not leading to divorce because I see others that have such a great relationship with stir fry. I suppose I should give it a chance. I’ve never been good at the sauce part… I love anything with peanut butter though!

    Reply
    • Maybe you should go to stir-fry counseling? I’m sure you’ll find a way to make it work. You could probably toss this sauce with some pasta and veggies, too. It’s worth a shot, esp if you like pb.

      Reply
  3. Pingback: messy messy marvin « that's what summer said.

Leave a Reply

