RSS Feed

what I put in my mouth this weekend

Posted on

So, in the spirit of combining innuendo and eating, I thought I’d like to do a little segment I like to call “What I Put In My Mouth Mondays.”  However, I still don’t have a camera…so save for one photo I was able to take with J’s iPhone, this may be a little bland without any photos.  Additionally, I was at his mercy as far as when I was able to get the picture…so this is more like WIPIMM Tuesday.  As you might have assessed from the title, this is all about…FOOD!

I’m super lax on the weekends.  I’m not bragging about it; I’d love to be able to keep my insane appetite in check and eat nothing but fruits and vegetables and amazing healthy-ness, but it doesn’t always happen.  I’ll be hanging out around my apartment, trying to get things done, or out running errands, and before you know it, BOOM—I’m caught with my hands down…in a bag of potato chips.  Or pretzels.  Or I’m fixing my third (small) bowl of cereal.

One thing I do like to make time for on the weekends, though, is brunch.  Whether I’m going out for it or cooking it at home (which is more likely the norm), I love the idea of combining breakfast and lunch, getting to eat more at one meal, and devouring breakfast foods at any time, period.  (They’re my favorite.)  I’ve had some delicious brunches around town (Bottletree has a fantastic Sunday brunch with several vegetarian/vegan options), but my favorites are the ones I’ve whipped up in my kitchen, especially when prepared with friends.

This past weekend, I knew what I was craving:  chocolate-chip waffles.  Sunday morning, I had a leisurely time of filing away my humongous stack of printed-from-the-internet recipes into a folder, while dreaming up my soon-to-be meal.  I decided on waffles adapted from one of my favorite pancake recipes, with a few tweaks.  Here’s what I used:

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 T brown sugar
  • 1/2 T sugar
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • mini chocolate chips

Mix all the dry ingredients together (save for the chips) separately from all the wet ingredients, combine the two.  Then spoon the appropriate amount on a waffle iron, sprinkle with chocolate chips, then press until done!  I made about 6 waffles that were varying sizes and froze the leftovers separately in Ziploc bags.

On the side, I had hash browns (cooked in the oven), turkey bacon, and half an egg.  Fact:  I’ve never really liked eggs; they gross me out.  Jonathan is one of the only people that I will allow to make me eggs.  He knows that I prefer to cook the hell out of them.  We made an amazing omelet when I lived in my last apartment…so yummy and golden brown.  During my last trip to Sam’s with the roommate, we bought a huge thing of eggs for cheap, and have yet to use even half of them.  J scrambled one egg and fried it in the pan containing the little bit of grease given off by the turkey bacon.  It was simple and plain, and delicious.

The potatoes were acquired from Sam’s as well.  We were craving mashed potatoes one night, and the 10-pound bag was just the better deal.  And thus, we’ve been attempting to incorporate them into various meals.  I diced them up using this badass knife I found in my kitchen after the move.  It’s super sharp, and yes, I’ve already cut myself at least once with this cleaver knife.  I tossed them with some olive oil and Webber’s seasoning, giving them another quick spritz with my new Misto from Bed, Bath and Beyond.  (I’ve been lusting after this thing for a while.  My roommate and BFF from college had one, and I coveted it the whole time we lived together.  I was so excited to get my oily little paws on one about a week ago.)  They then went into the oven preheated to about 350 until crispy and brown.

Put it all together:


That’s my very favorite coffee mug.  My best friend is from Cape Cod, and she brought it back for me from our favorite coffee shop in Falmouth.

I topped the waffle with some HFCS-free syrup, and the hash browns got a drizzle of like-minded HFCS-free ketchup.  It’s funny, I remember using sugar-free syrup and calorie-free sweeteners all the time in my crusade to lose weight.  I consumed so many Dannon Light’n Fit and Yoplait yogurts and Splenda-sweetened treats. I’ve finally gotten to a point where I really can’t handle the taste of them.  I’d rather eat real stuff part of the time than fake stuff most of the time.

Do you like brunch/breakfast foods?  What are your favorites?  How do you feel about artificial sweeteners?

2 responses »

  1. oh i love pancakes, french toast, and coffee cake! YUM! and artificial sweeteners? i try to stay away, but i definitely love my diet coke every now and then!

    Reply
  2. Weekends are my biggest struggle! It’s prob because I do my grocery shopping on Sundays and by then the frig and pantry are usually BARE. Also – I’m the type of person who needs structure so not having my “routine” throws me off. Identifying is the first step right? 😉 Your post has a lot of personally, me gusta.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

