RSS Feed

it’s so deep

Posted on

That’s what Summer said.

Last night Jonathan and decided to have a date night.  Something really original…like dinner and a movie.  Ever since I saw Jason‘s post about Chicago-style deep-dish pizza, I’d had a wicked craving.  So when time came for us to pick a restaurant, I knew exactly where I wanted to go.  We headed to Tortuga‘s on 280 to investigate Jason’s claims about this epic pizza.  (Note:  There is also a location in Hoover, which is the one Jason mentions in his blog.)

On the web site, they give the caveat that it takes 45 minutes for the Chicago-style pizza to cook.  We were willing to wait, but luckily they allow you to call ahead before dining in.  Between the horrendous traffic on 280 and the bouts of rain falling from the sky, it took us a little longer to get down there than we’d originally planned.  Turned out, it worked in our favor.

The Tortuga’s on 280 is rather small on the inside, and the dining area opens into the kitchen.  I could already smell that we were going to like it.  Once a table was cleared off, we were seated and given small chunks of buttery garlic bread and homemade sauce to snack on.  We decided to start off with a beer.  (Note:  These pictures were taken with J’s iPhone…I’m still anxiously awaiting my camera’s return.)


Jonathan went with a Sam Adams Boston Lager.


I chose a Lazy Magnolia Southern Pecan—one of my favorites!

We went with the vegetarian.  Of course, we added pepperoni, per J’s request.

Shortly after we were seated, our tower pizza was brought out.

Oh.  Sweet.  Jesus.  I wanted it in my mouth, right then.  Our server cut out the middleman by serving us each a slice immediately after she placed it on the table.

These pictures definitely don’t do it justice.  I don’t know that my personal camera could have even come close, either.  We each had to eat our slices with a fork and knife.  The tomatoes were perfect and juicy, and the cheesy was so salty and juicy and delicious.

Look at that crust!

I give it two very enthusiastic thumbs up.  (Two points for anyone who guessed that quote before clicking on the picture.)  My first experience as a Chicago-style pizza virgin was pleasantly enjoyable, though I left the restaurant stuffed and a little uncomfortable.  Thanks for being gentle, Tortuga’s.  You were both kind and thorough.

After Jonathan and I rolled out the door left, we headed for part two of our date:  movie night.  Our flick of choice?  Inception.

Um…I wish I could accurately sum up the movie, or give you an idea of what it’s about, but let’s just say it’s a bit of a mindfuck.  Honestly, I have not felt that on-edge during a movie in a very long time.  (Maybe Shutter Island.  It’s that darn Leonardo DiCaprio.)  I think I left permanent nail marks in poor Jonathan’s arm.

Did I like it?  Yes.  I loved it.  Did my head hurt when I left the theater?  Oh, God yes.  It was just so much to take in…and had I not spoken to people who’d already seen it, I would have had no clue what it was about.  I mean, I remember seeing commercials for it, but I guess I never paid enough attention to them to get it.  I want everyone to go see it so that we can, in my sister’s words, all have a group discussion.

Do you like cliche dinner-and-a-movie dates?  (J and I have been together for almost 2 and a half years, and I can probably count on one hand how many times we’ve done both in one night…that’s also what Summer said.)

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention it’s so deep « that's what summer said. -- Topsy.com

  2. totally just started drooling at that pizza. i might cry because it looks so good 🙂

    Reply
  3. I didn’t know that you tried Tortugas? Isn’t it fabulous?! Sometime, let’s do our double date there. If Carlos is in (the owner) we should talk to him. He’s a doll!! Srsly, you’ll love him.

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Lent and what it meant. « that's what summer said.

Leave a Reply

