RSS Feed

reunited and it feels so good…

Posted on

Way back when I was in college, during a time when Facebook was new and reserved only for college kids, there was an option on the burgeoning social network to put in what classes you were taking. And like all the other cool kids, I put in my schedule. Shortly thereafter, I found myself with a handful of new adds from people I’d not yet met but who I’d be having class with that fall. It was actually a pretty clever function; we could set up study groups and such and communicate missed assignments. I remember noticing one girl in particular who added me and who I’d never seen around.

n156803730_30318231_7048 On my first day of PR Writing at JSU, I sat in the back. I saw a vaguely familiar head of hair sitting in front of me. I tapped her on the shoulder. “Excuse me, but are you Kristin?” I asked. The beautiful girl nodded and smiled at me.

And the rest is friendship history!

248712_506514330629_156803730_30267680_6913_n

Kristin and I became fast friends, and as I remember it, that very first week, she invited me out to dinner and drinks with her friends. She was not only the most gorgeous girl I’d ever seen in real life, she was also super down-to-earth and funny. We spent many a late night drinking wine, eating cookie dough and laughing our asses off.

250662_506514315659_156803730_30267666_1127_n

We were study buddies, drinking partners, and karaoke queens. Kristin and I, along with my friends Kevin and Kaitie, became a very close-knit group within the communications department.

In 2007, Kristin moved to New York for a fabulous internship, and it was a big change that soon became semi-permanent. We kept in touch, and no matter how infrequent our conversations may have been, she was still one of my very best friends. I swore I’d come for a visit, but the money and time were never available.

The next year, Kristin moved home for a little while, and we were able to see each other a little more. But before I knew it, she’d found a new job and new place to call home: Washington, D.C. (Virginia, to be more correct). A lot closer, but still so far away. We continued to have sporadic visits as she returned home to see family, including a fantastic whirlwind trip last fall when we attended our alma mater’s homecoming festivities.

74492_576727198479_156803730_32562278_2129641_n148324_576727278319_156803730_32562280_3664546_n155071_576727647579_156803730_32562294_3236586_n

This past March, I decided to check out flights on AirTran, on a whim. Kris had told me she’d been able to find reasonable tickets between two smaller airports, and I just had to see. As luck would have it, I found a round-trip ticket over Memorial Day weekend—for just under $150 total.

I bought it immediately.

So in less than 24 hours, I’ll be DC-bound and reunited with my BFF Kristin. We’ve been looking forward to this trip for a very long time, and I foresee a lot more wine and late-night chatting on the agenda.

And if we’re lucky, maybe a little karaoke.

n156803730_30318221_4769

Take a few minutes to make a phone call to someone with whom you might have lost touch. I’m sure it’ll brighten both your days. I hope you all have a fantastic Memorial Day weekend—see ya on the flip side!

22561_550250532929_156803730_31909135_3042270_n

9 responses »

  1. Awwww I heart both you guys! Have a blast and tell her I said hi!! Miss you love!

    Reply
  2. I also noticed you did not mention your sweet, caring, beautiful sister who will be driving you to the airport at the crack of dawn. Only kidding! Have a wonderful time!

    Reply
  3. I love your “alma matter” outfit! Have fun.

    Reply
    • Thanks girl! I pieced that together with a couple of random items I found at different stores! I loved that skirt, and I bought it for like, $4 at a Cato’s. You never know what you’ll find till you start digging!

      Reply
  4. That’s a sweet story! I actually really love Facebook as it reunited me and my boyfriend..and obviously it’s just as great as brining best friends together! You never know where you’ll find life long friends!

    Thanks for commenting so I could find your blog! I love it! I was going to respond to your question on mine..but yes, I’m in Auburn now! Are you still in FL or are you in AL, too?

    Reply
    • Those Internets…a lot of crazy stuff out there! I actually went to Jacksonville State in Jacksonville, AL—which is about 2 hours north of Auburn. I live in Birmingham, AL now—still about 2 hours away, but northeast. We come to Auburn a lot for games and such; my dad is an alumni and an Auburn Tiger for life :)

      Reply
  5. Pingback: I’m on my way I’m making it « that's what summer said.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

